mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
MDI duplicate icons #268671 09/04/21 09:57 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,750
Raccoon Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,750
[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

mIRC 7.64.

I just discovered this strange MDI behavior last night. I'm not entirely sure what prompted it, but I noticed it just after attempting to DCC SEND a wav file to someone.
Note the two MDI window icons, and the two MDI min/max/close icon sets. The extra icons all function normally, accepting clicks, showing menus, etc... just too many of them.
I don't know if I can reproduce this behavior. Just wanted you to know about it.

This is Windows 7 Pro 64.



Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: MDI duplicate icons [Re: Raccoon] #268678 10/04/21 12:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,916
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,916
Thanks, I have seen this as well, although it happens so rarely that it has been impossible to reproduce. These buttons are drawn by the Windows MDI handler, so mIRC has no control over them. It looks like, in some situations, the MDI handler gets confused and ends up drawing two copies of the buttons in different themes. It may be that, in future, I will have to implement my own MDI handler if the Windows implementation stops working correctly due to Microsoft no longer updating it.

Re: MDI duplicate icons [Re: Khaled] #268696 12/04/21 09:02 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,750
Raccoon Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,750
First time I have ever seen it. Also first time in a long time I tried using DCC /send.


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: MDI duplicate icons [Re: Raccoon] #268697 12/04/21 09:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,319
L
Loki12583 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,319
It's not strictly related to DCC, probably just general window creation. I reported the problem here:

https://forums.mirc.com/ubbthreads.php/topics/268294/re-duplicate-icons-in-menubar

I believe it was also mentioned in another thread but not the original topic of that thread. Unless you were also using remote desktop, I'd be surprised if we could identify the precise cause.