mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
F-Keys not working since update to 7.64 #268223 14/12/20 09:13 PM
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 16
DarkTexas Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 16
After updating to mirc 7.64 the aliases we have on F-keys aren't working anymore.
F1 is now opening the mIRC help again and noone of the F-Keys are reponding to our aliases, one example is below:

//F5 sddc //gline $$1 3d :12Floodbot / Drone / Abusive (set by Chris at $fulldate $+ ) (fab)



Welp?


Chris 'DarkTexas' D.
Technical Administrator
ICQ-Chat IRC Services
http://icq-chat.com
Re: F-Keys not working since update to 7.64 [Re: DarkTexas] #268224 14/12/20 09:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,864
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,864
Thanks for your bug report. I have not been able to reproduce this issue so far. I tested a number of different function key aliases, including f5, and they all worked without any issues here. Is it possible that something else is interfering with your function key aliases?

Re: F-Keys not working since update to 7.64 [Re: Khaled] #268226 14/12/20 10:09 PM
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 16
DarkTexas Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 16
not sure what could be interfering there, It appears I'm not the only one having this issue, another User does have the same issue since the update.
Any input I could provide you here?


Chris 'DarkTexas' D.
Technical Administrator
ICQ-Chat IRC Services
http://icq-chat.com
Re: F-Keys not working since update to 7.64 [Re: DarkTexas] #268227 14/12/20 11:20 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,481
maroon Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,481
Can you confirm that the F5 alias is still there? This should show $true followed by the filename

//echo -a $isalias(f5) $isalias(f5).fname

If it reports $false, but you do see the code in the filename, press Ctrl+H to make sure there aren't unbalanced brackets causing a glitch

If the alias is completely missing now from the file, hopefully the old alias file is backed-up by the installer

Re: F-Keys not working since update to 7.64 [Re: maroon] #268229 15/12/20 03:19 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,724
Raccoon Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,724
I am unable to reproduce this as well. Here is my sample f-key in my aliases.mrc file.

Code
//F1 //echo -a test

I used two slashes as prefixes because that's what you said you used, and it still works on my end. Though, the slashes are not needed and should not be used per style.

This replaces my F1 key to display "test" instead of opening the help file.

I do not know what "sddc" is in your f-key definition. It is possible that "sddc" is an invalid non-existent alias. Try deleting that word from your f-key alias definition and see if it works agian.

Also, you cannot use $$1 in f-key aliases. Delete that too and replace it with somebody's nickname, or anything else besides $$1.
($$1 will always behave as /halt in an f-key alias. Khaled and maroon aren't on their game today!)

Code
from:
//F5 sddc //gline $$1 3d :12Floodbot / Drone / Abusive (set by Chris at $fulldate $+ ) (fab)

to:
F5 gline Khaled 3d :12Floodbot / Drone / Abusive (set by Chris at $fulldate $+ ) (fab)


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: F-Keys not working since update to 7.64 [Re: Raccoon] #268230 15/12/20 12:57 PM
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 16
DarkTexas Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 16
I've tested it as well, when creating a simple alias it's working, but with an alias like:

Code
F1 echo -a sddc msg #botserv X //addshun $$1

(This should just ECHO the Command, it doesn't do anything either?)


And no, sddc exists in a remote file.

Code
alias sddc { //dde %DDEServer command "" $1- }


I'm confused why $$1 shouldn't be working in my aliases if I used it for multiple years? I'm entirely lost to be honest. Now, after moving the F-Aliases to the top of the file they seem to work; weird, really weird.
As I'm not the only one who had this issue Ill ask the other guys to check if that fixes it for them as well, I'm certainly confused.

Last edited by DarkTexas; 15/12/20 01:05 PM.

Chris 'DarkTexas' D.
Technical Administrator
ICQ-Chat IRC Services
http://icq-chat.com
Re: F-Keys not working since update to 7.64 [Re: DarkTexas] #268231 15/12/20 01:47 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,481
maroon Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,481
I wasn't looking for things that would have prevented the alias from working in both versions, and $$1 does that. The double dollar halts the script if the identifier evaluates to $null, which always happens if an F-key is used to launch an alias.

It looks like maybe the $$1 is a typo, and it should instead be $$? which is a prompt for you to type the nick to be shunned?

$? is an identifier which causes an input-of-text box to be shown, and is filled with whatever you type there. If you don't type anything, and just press ENTER or press the ESCAPE, the $? would be null, so using $$? would halt the alias if you didn't put in a string.

Using $$1 instead of $$? would have halted your alias in all versions, so you probably had a different version of the alias which had the $$? instead.

Edit: Thanks to Saturn for pointing it out, if a nick is highlighted, that does get filled into $$1, as mentioned in /help Function Keys. So maybe this time you were just testing without having any nick being highlighted, as I was doing when $$1 was halting for me

Last edited by maroon; 15/12/20 05:41 PM.