mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Bind to specific Network Interface / Adapter #267721 10/09/20 12:36 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,747
Raccoon Online OP
Hoopy frood
OP Online
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,747
I'd like to request the ability to specify a Network Interface / Network Adapter that mIRC is given permission to use. It will not be able to use any other adapter.

This will be useful in making sure mIRC only connects through a virtual interface for proxy VPN connections, and not via the local actual network interface.

A drop-combo would be populated with the interfaces to choose from.

Last edited by Raccoon; 10/09/20 12:37 AM.

Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: Bind to specific Network Interface / Adapter [Re: Raccoon] #267722 10/09/20 01:30 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,761
W
Wims Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,761
You can already do that from the options -> Connect -> Options -> Ports..., no?


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: Bind to specific Network Interface / Adapter [Re: Wims] #267723 10/09/20 10:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,747
Raccoon Online OP
Hoopy frood
OP Online
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,747
Hmm. That's close. But it binds to an Adapter + IP address. The IP address changes constantly with most VPN software, but remains static in mIRC's settings.

Is there a way to make it bind to an Adapter Only?


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: Bind to specific Network Interface / Adapter [Re: Raccoon] #267724 12/09/20 11:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,913
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,913
Quote
Is there a way to make it bind to an Adapter Only?

It should have allowed this, however it looks like there is an issue with how adapter names and IP addresses are handled that is preventing this. I have made a changed in the next beta that should resolve this.

Re: Bind to specific Network Interface / Adapter [Re: Khaled] #267725 12/09/20 10:38 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,747
Raccoon Online OP
Hoopy frood
OP Online
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,747
Thanks Khaled!


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: Bind to specific Network Interface / Adapter [Re: Raccoon] #267734 14/09/20 05:56 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,913
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,913
I was just testing the latest beta with different combinations of network adapters/binds and it is still not doing what it should be doing. I should have this fixed in the next beta :-]

Re: Bind to specific Network Interface / Adapter [Re: Khaled] #268142 30/11/20 12:35 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,747
Raccoon Online OP
Hoopy frood
OP Online
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,747
Still today, mIRC is being promiscuous and utilizing whatever adapter it feels like.


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: Bind to specific Network Interface / Adapter [Re: Raccoon] #268143 30/11/20 05:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 214
T
Talon Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 214
I'm not on the beta, I'm on release 7.63 but I also experience this issue. My source to the web is via WiFi, I still have a LAN port, but no hard cable ran. mIRC will find the right adapter and connect to IRC fine, but it gets confused sometimes on uPnP requests, and even my uPnP Daemon doesn't resolve this issue like it used to before in the past. Turns out if I do a localinfo -h, it winds up resolving to my LAN adapter's IP address which literally goes no-where (not even a LAN cable plugged into the back) instead of my WiFi adapters internal IP, which makes sense on why uPnP fails when it's trying to ask my router for a port forward to the wrong adapters local ip.

Re: Bind to specific Network Interface / Adapter [Re: Raccoon] #268144 30/11/20 07:42 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,913
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,913
Quote
Still today, mIRC is being promiscuous and utilizing whatever adapter it feels like.

The latest beta is working correctly for me when I enter a specific network adapter in the ports dialog.

Can you describe a step by step method that reproduces the issue you are seeing?

Also, remember, if the network adapter you have specified in the ports dialog is not available for any reason, mIRC will default to using any adapter for the connection, eg. if the adapter is disabled or no longer exists.

Last edited by Khaled; 02/12/20 08:34 AM.