mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
B
BoredNL Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
B
The reason for this is because many people have a hard time when begining to script because after learning the basics, whenever they want to do ANYTHING in mIRC, they have to take their best guess at what the command may be or what text may be in the help for that command specifically, or they have to search through the entire help file for it or something that will do the job.

One feature that would be nice if included would be example scripts.

A tutorial would show people how to script correctly, efficiently, and would allow for people to learn to script and start more easily.

Note: I'd create a tutorial, but I'm not an expert scripter, nor do I know how to create a well made tutorial.

A possible benefit from this to the whole mIRC community would be that more people would probably start scripting. The scripts created by these scripters (who were taught to script correctly and efficiently) would most likely be a lot faster and probably more innovative and diverse.

'Methodology' could be taught in the tutorial as well to show different techniques for certain situations and which ones have been proven to work well.

Now of course the main function of this tutorial would just be to streamline the process of teaching someone to script (efficiently script). The 'methodology' wouldn't have to be implimented, and if it is, it should be implimented as notes at the bottom of a page or as part of an extended tutorial. Example scripts would be an extra added bonus and not required either.

If I just made a fool of myself and I'm missing something crucial here, please let me know. smile

- Wherever you go there you are.[color:lightgreen]
F
Self-satisified door
Self-satisified door
F
/help example script
laugh