mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#157287 23/08/06 11:52 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
M
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
First, im a noob at mIRC.
So i have a lot of channels that i idle in mIRC and when i quit mIRC and reconnect, its a hassle to type /join <channel> 20 times.
I would like a script that i put in about 20 channels and it will connect for me. The script will also time it so the error "Target change too fast. Please wait 64 seconds" will not occur. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#157288 24/08/06 12:56 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
This has been done before. Please use the Search feature in the future.
Code:
 on *:connect:{
var %a = 1, %b = $lines(channels.txt)
while %a &lt;= %b {
.timer 1 $calc(%a * 60) join $read(channels.txt,%a)
inc %a
}
}
 

Make a text file called channels.txt and have the channels listed one per line, with the full channel name.
If this seems too slow, change the 60 to a lower number.
Channels that require keys have not been incorporated, but I can add them if needed.

#157289 24/08/06 01:54 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
M
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Hey Russel thanks for the reply, and i'll make sure to search harder next time.

As i've said im a noob at mIRC.

So. i just put the code into script editor and pressed ok. I added a text document for my channels called "channels.txt" in "C:\Program Files\mIRC" and restarted mIRC and waited, but nothing happened. confused

#157290 24/08/06 03:49 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
1) You did connect to an IRC network, right? The script won't do a thing until it sees an active connection to an IRC network.
2) If that was done correctly, ensure that your entries in the file are similar to #channel_name
The format of the channel name has to be the same as if you were using the /join command.

#157291 24/08/06 04:04 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
M
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks for the reply again.

Yes, i connected to irc.gamesurge.net. my channels.txt has a list of channels that are in this format: "#sikkgaming".

I put the code in script editor, Remote Tab. Is that correct?

#157292 24/08/06 04:15 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
So far so good, with the possible exception of the quotation marks that you used in your post around the channel name. If those are literally present in the list of channels, then they are the problem, and you need to remove them.

#157293 24/08/06 06:43 AM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 612
B
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 612
the OP could also add each channel to the favourites list adn set them to join on connect.

btk


billythekid
#157294 24/08/06 07:29 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Yes, but that doesn't allow consideration for the Target Change Too Fast message, which is why I didn't suggest it.

#157295 24/08/06 04:53 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
M
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Well the script isn't doing anything for me >.< . I think im doing something wrong.

#157296 24/08/06 06:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,358
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,358
Do you have another on connect event in the same script file?

#157297 24/08/06 06:25 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 242
H
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
H
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 242
should the txt file be in a mIRC directory or can it be put anywhere?


Newbie
#157298 24/08/06 07:31 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 420
X
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
X
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 420
Based on the code, yes it should be. But you could also put the file anywhere, just make sure that you put the correct path to the file in the code.


If you have a plastic floor runner over your tiles, then you're one Hella Pinoy!
#157299 24/08/06 07:53 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 242
H
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
H
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 242
so maybe thats the problem


Newbie
#157300 24/08/06 09:49 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
M
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
i dont get where to put the script. I put it in script editor under remote tab is that correct?

#157301 24/08/06 10:42 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 242
H
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
H
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 242
Its not really for me to talk as am a total noob but this is what i think is meant.
Yes this should go into the remotes. I tries this script myself and it works perfectly. as russel suggested you need to make a txt file called channels and what i think you need to do is place that into your mIRC directory and then restart mIRC and connect.
You have to be patient as it joins the first channel in 60 seconds from the connect time.
as he mentioned if thats too slow adjust the 60 to something less, when you connect you can type /timers to see if the timers activated.


Newbie
#157302 25/08/06 03:10 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
M
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
When i connect to mIRC and i type /timers it says no active timers.

#157303 25/08/06 03:30 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
1) Start mIRC
2) DO NOT CONNECT
3) type /remote on
4) Connect

#157304 25/08/06 05:41 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
M
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
It worked! thanks!


Link Copied to Clipboard