mIRC Homepage
Posted By: mrsir110 Script Request - 23/08/06 11:52 PM
First, im a noob at mIRC.
So i have a lot of channels that i idle in mIRC and when i quit mIRC and reconnect, its a hassle to type /join <channel> 20 times.
I would like a script that i put in about 20 channels and it will connect for me. The script will also time it so the error "Target change too fast. Please wait 64 seconds" will not occur. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Posted By: RusselB Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 12:56 AM
This has been done before. Please use the Search feature in the future.
Code:
 on *:connect:{
var %a = 1, %b = $lines(channels.txt)
while %a &lt;= %b {
.timer 1 $calc(%a * 60) join $read(channels.txt,%a)
inc %a
}
}
 

Make a text file called channels.txt and have the channels listed one per line, with the full channel name.
If this seems too slow, change the 60 to a lower number.
Channels that require keys have not been incorporated, but I can add them if needed.
Posted By: mrsir110 Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 01:54 AM
Hey Russel thanks for the reply, and i'll make sure to search harder next time.

As i've said im a noob at mIRC.

So. i just put the code into script editor and pressed ok. I added a text document for my channels called "channels.txt" in "C:\Program Files\mIRC" and restarted mIRC and waited, but nothing happened. confused
Posted By: RusselB Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 03:49 AM
1) You did connect to an IRC network, right? The script won't do a thing until it sees an active connection to an IRC network.
2) If that was done correctly, ensure that your entries in the file are similar to #channel_name
The format of the channel name has to be the same as if you were using the /join command.
Posted By: mrsir110 Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 04:04 AM
Thanks for the reply again.

Yes, i connected to irc.gamesurge.net. my channels.txt has a list of channels that are in this format: "#sikkgaming".

I put the code in script editor, Remote Tab. Is that correct?
Posted By: RusselB Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 04:15 AM
So far so good, with the possible exception of the quotation marks that you used in your post around the channel name. If those are literally present in the list of channels, then they are the problem, and you need to remove them.
Posted By: billythekid Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 06:43 AM
the OP could also add each channel to the favourites list adn set them to join on connect.

btk
Posted By: RusselB Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 07:29 AM
Yes, but that doesn't allow consideration for the Target Change Too Fast message, which is why I didn't suggest it.
Posted By: mrsir110 Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 04:53 PM
Well the script isn't doing anything for me >.< . I think im doing something wrong.
Posted By: Loki12583 Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 06:21 PM
Do you have another on connect event in the same script file?
Posted By: HaleyJ Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 06:25 PM
should the txt file be in a mIRC directory or can it be put anywhere?
Posted By: xDaeMoN Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 07:31 PM
Based on the code, yes it should be. But you could also put the file anywhere, just make sure that you put the correct path to the file in the code.
Posted By: HaleyJ Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 07:53 PM
so maybe thats the problem
Posted By: mrsir110 Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 09:49 PM
i dont get where to put the script. I put it in script editor under remote tab is that correct?
Posted By: HaleyJ Re: Script Request - 24/08/06 10:42 PM
Its not really for me to talk as am a total noob but this is what i think is meant.
Yes this should go into the remotes. I tries this script myself and it works perfectly. as russel suggested you need to make a txt file called channels and what i think you need to do is place that into your mIRC directory and then restart mIRC and connect.
You have to be patient as it joins the first channel in 60 seconds from the connect time.
as he mentioned if thats too slow adjust the 60 to something less, when you connect you can type /timers to see if the timers activated.
Posted By: mrsir110 Re: Script Request - 25/08/06 03:10 AM
When i connect to mIRC and i type /timers it says no active timers.
Posted By: RusselB Re: Script Request - 25/08/06 03:30 AM
1) Start mIRC
2) DO NOT CONNECT
3) type /remote on
4) Connect
Posted By: mrsir110 Re: Script Request - 25/08/06 05:41 PM
It worked! thanks!
© mIRC Discussion Forums