mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
6.15 will not connect to any servers. #85284 04/06/04 03:36 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 12
P
Pretzlcoatl Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 12
I downloaded 6.15 and was attempting to reconnect to my servers with the perform list, but every single server returned a Connection Refused error. I turned my remotes off and tried again manually, but still no go. Is there some random setting that got turned on that is changing the way mirc connects to servers?

I reinstalled 6.14 and was able to connect.

Re: 6.15 will not connect to any servers. #85285 04/06/04 04:26 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 20
K
kristnjov Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
K
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 20
You're not by any chance using SSL, are you?


kristnjov, AMMM honorary bat
Re: 6.15 will not connect to any servers. #85286 04/06/04 09:11 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 12
P
Pretzlcoatl Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 12
No, I'm not. I don't have any of the SSL files.

Re: 6.15 will not connect to any servers. #85287 06/06/04 10:47 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
G
grit Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
G
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
im having the same prob take 6.15 off 6.14 back on prob solved must be a differant setting somewhere on 6.15 any ideas anyone

Re: 6.15 will not connect to any servers. #85288 06/06/04 10:55 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
The thing that's strange about this is 'Connection Refused' means just that - the server has refused you. Therefore, I can't clearly see why mIRC 6.14 would work and 6.15 wouldn't. I'm guessing an internal change has been made somewhere along the line and now a (possibly popular) external program is having negative effects.

You might want to see this thread, Norton was suggested. Also try using the Search feature as a number of threads have been started about this error.

Are you getting this with all networks AND all ports? Have you tried on a fresh install on 6.15?

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: 6.15 will not connect to any servers. #85289 06/06/04 10:55 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
G
grit Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
G
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
follow up i can dcc send to someone but when someone tries to use my fileserver it wont let them6.14 no problem so it as to be a setting somewhere in 6.15 any help would be appreciative thanx in advance

Re: 6.15 will not connect to any servers. #85290 06/06/04 05:03 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 12
P
Pretzlcoatl Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 12
Solved the problem with a simple restart of my computer.

Turns out my firewall was screwed up somehow and restarting the computer fixed the firewall. Everything's fine now.

Re: 6.15 will not connect to any servers. #85291 10/06/04 10:46 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 101
root66 Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 101
the firewall probably saw that the exe had changed and for some reason didnt ask if it was ok to still run it. You are not the first person I know of who fixed it with a reboot.