mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Selecting the entire chat #7550 20/01/03 06:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
M
mouseman Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
M
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
I hate not being able to select an entire chat in mIRC... Every time I want to copy/paste a larger part of the chat i have to do it screen by screen.I hate that. frown

Re: Selecting the entire chat #7551 20/01/03 06:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
do you mean the number of lines you can copy/paste at once?

if you want to copy everything in the channel, why not just log it? or log the buffer?


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Selecting the entire chat #7552 20/01/03 06:46 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
M
mouseman Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
M
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
I don't log my chats because I usually use mIRc at shared computers but I think it is just frustrating tah mIrc won't scroll to the next screen while selecting text.

Re: Selecting the entire chat #7553 20/01/03 07:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
ah, think i see what you mean... if i have several lines i need to copy when i have lots open, usually maxing that window while i do the copy takes care of it...if theres so much that it wont, then i log the buffer and edit it, or turn logging on while whatever it is is being discussed, then turn it off when its over. (in case you didnt know, click your alt key and the - key or click in the upper left of that window to quickly access where you can turn logging on/off)


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: Selecting the entire chat #7554 20/01/03 11:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
in mIRC before 5.9 or so you could select text bigger then 1 viewable screen, you just keep pulling down with your mouse pointer and the screen would scroll down and the selection kept it's original origin. now when you select and scroll down the origin is changed to the same posistion (if availible) on the next line...

I too find this very anoying, only way to solve it is to "save buffer" (right click on channel button in the window list > buffer > save as)


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Re: Selecting the entire chat #7555 21/01/03 06:42 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
Just cut and paste from the channel log.


Induced IRC
irc.induced.net
Re: Selecting the entire chat #7556 22/01/03 12:03 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 25
V
v0id Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
V
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 25
"The limitation
You can only copy the currently displayed text. To copy text from another page, you must scroll up/down to it and then copy it. If you want to store most of the text you see on a channel, you might want to use the logfile/buffer options in the System Menu.

The explanation
The use of color in mIRC means that a simple text box cannot be used since text boxes can display only plain text (and they also have other limitations). However, text boxes also have built in cut/copy/paste routines which unfortunately are unavailable to a graphic window. This means that I had to code the mark/copy routine myself. I'm not sure which ran out first, my patience or my programming ability :-)"