mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39667 04/08/03 06:48 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 161
A
Ashkrynt Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
A
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 161
my switchbar on mirc currently looks like this: http://hammer.prohosting.com/~squirtel/badbar.html It's kinda annoying that mirc won't use that space at the end, the buttons aren't as big as they could be smirk Enabling the "Fill Switchbar" option has no effect

Last edited by Ashkrynt; 04/08/03 07:13 PM.
Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39668 04/08/03 06:53 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
broken link.


new username: tidy_trax
Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39669 04/08/03 07:01 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 161
A
Ashkrynt Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
A
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 161
it's not broken, my webhost is just annoying about image links. If you copy/paste it into the address it should work.

Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39670 04/08/03 07:10 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
404 Error - File Not Found
The page or file you were looking for was not found.


new username: tidy_trax
Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39671 04/08/03 07:14 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
R
root Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
came up for me, like 800 channels/queries open

Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39672 04/08/03 07:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 127
F
feud Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
F
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 127
i got to your ss fine. i agree that in your situation it is kinda annoying that mirc won't use the space at the end of the switchbar, but with that many open windows, isn't the point moot? i mean, it's not like utilizing that space will allow you to read the title of any of those windows.

imo, if you used a custom switchbar (of which there are many at ms.org), you would be able to better view/work with all of the windows that you have open.


------
deep down, i'm really superficial.
Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39673 04/08/03 07:50 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
It'll work fine if you paste into the addressbar instead of clicking the link.

Many free webhosts will check the HTTP referrer header provided by the web client to see if an image is being accessed directly from a remote location (and not serve the file if it is).

As for Ashkrynt: I agree it probably should fill all the space available, for what little good that will do you.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39674 04/08/03 09:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,908
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,908
The reason mIRC doesn't fill the switchbar completely is because there isn't enough space to add one pixel to the width of each window button in that row.

Of course, it could add one pixel to some of the buttons but then there would be an imbalance in the universe. And we can't have that. It would tilt over to one side.

Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39675 04/08/03 09:56 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
I still say you should just add a pager control type of thing, that would fix virtually all the problems.

Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39676 06/08/03 03:45 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 161
A
Ashkrynt Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
A
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 161
Actually there's about 155px of space at the end, and only 38 buttons, so theres enough room to add 4 pixels to each

Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39677 11/08/03 09:07 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 42
G
GregMo Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
G
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 42
Very valid point. I count at a bare minimum of 130 pixels which could give each window at least another 3 pixels. With me, it's not so much that I'd want to be able to read the title but that I'd like to see the switchbar full. Either way, it's cosmetic, and highly trival.

Cheers,
GregMo

Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39678 13/08/03 01:11 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
S
saxon Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
You have to taken into account the seperators though, and space between buttons, you dont want buttons and seperators to be touching each other.... that wouldn't be right.

Re: switchbar wasted space with many windows open #39679 13/08/03 02:15 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 42
G
GregMo Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
G
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 42
What seperators? What space?

We're not talking about opening new windows, we're talking about the spacing between the currently opened windows.

Cheers,
GregMo