mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
B
Billden Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Is it possible to run mIRC in a training environment with no outside connectivity whatsoever. We simply have a standalone LAN in the classroom with instructor machines and student machines; in some cases only one instructor and only one student. Can mIRC be configured using only these two PCs with no Internet access whatsoever? Is it possible for one of these PCs to run the client software and the other PC run the client software AND the server software or do I need a dedicated server PC? I'm just beginning my research on this so I have a lot to learn. Any guidance/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

B
Billden Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Should I post this question in the Support forum or is this the proper forum?

Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
Without installing an IRC server on your local network, mIRC would be unable to utilize the standard IRC server connectivity and joining of channels, etc.

However, mIRC has a built-in DCC client server model that allows for direct connect between multiple mIRC clients to one mIRC client operating a DCC server.

You can find the DCC Server settings under Options --> DCC --> Server.

Once the instructor has a DCC Server running, you can initiate a connection from the student computers to the instructor computer by using the following command:

/chat 192.168.1.138:59

Where you specify the local IP address of the instructor's computer, followed by a comma, followed by the port number specified in the DCC Server options.

Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
Another option is to download, install and configure your own IRC server (IRC daemon) to your instructor machines. If more than one, you can even link them all together to make your own IRC network throughout the campus.