mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#238445 30/07/12 07:59 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
J
jerod Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
J
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
since I upgraded to the new version I no longer have a right-click popup when right clicking on a name in a channel window..... how do I get that back?

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
try type this in any window in mirc.
Code:
//var %f = $qt($findfile($nofile($mircini),popups.ini,1)) , %i = 1 | while ($gettok(-ps -pc -pq -pn -pm,%i,32)) { load $v1 %f | inc %i }


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
J
jerod Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
J
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
nope, that didn't do it

Its only the right click popup in a channel window that I lost.
Right click on a name in the names list and it works, right click on a name in the channel and nothing. yet there is the little hand icon on the name
dunno

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 417
K
Pan-dimensional mouse
Offline
Pan-dimensional mouse
K
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 417
try this one.. which message does this give you?


Code:
//var %x = $qt($mircdirscripts\popups.ini), %y = $qt($scriptdirpopups.ini), %z = $iif($exists(%x), %x, $iif($exists(%y), %y)) | if (!%z || (!$ini(%z, lpopup, 0))) echo -a * Error restoring popups | else { tokenize 32 -ps -pc -pq -pn -pm | load $* %z | echo -a * Popups Restored }


Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
Please type the following in mIRC and post the result here:

//echo -a $version $os $md5($mircexe,2) $file($mircexe).sig $dll(0) $script(0) $com(0)


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,945
W
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,945
You may have an on hotlink event conflicting, try typing "/remote off" in any editbox of mIRC and see if you can right click a nickname in the channel window, don't forget to put your remote back on with "/remote on" whatever if it worked or not


#mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net == the best mIRC help channel
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
J
jerod Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
J
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
kindone:

* Loaded popup 'C:\Program Files\mIRC\popups.ini'
-
* Loaded popup 'C:\Program Files\mIRC\popups.ini'
-
* Loaded popup 'C:\Program Files\mIRC\popups.ini'
-
* Loaded popup 'C:\Program Files\mIRC\popups.ini'
-
* Loaded popup 'C:\Program Files\mIRC\popups.ini'
-
* Popups Restored




still no right click on names


Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
J
jerod Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
J
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
nope, didn't work

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
J
jerod Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
J
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
* Identifier locked in options dialog: $dll



this is crazy, it worked fine up to the minute I upgraded. Have any of you guys checked to see if you have a right click menu when you click on someones name inside the channel window?

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
J
jerod Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
J
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
OK this is weird, its working now.... what could have changed it???

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,945
W
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,945
The popups menu displayed when you right click a name in the nicklist and the popups menu displayed when you right click a name in the channel window is the same.
This would mean you don't have a problem of popups, the popup is there since it works in the nicklist.
Note that there's no way (without using external tools like a dll) to stop the default popups when you right click a name in the nicklist whereas it is possible to override the behavior when you right click a nickname inside the channel window.
Which is why I suggested turning remote off (that would prevent any code to override that behavior), and which is why you were asked to give some informations about your mirc settings (the //echo -a command).
Since you said it's working now, I'd triple check you have your remote on ($remote is 7).
Having your remote off would explain why it's working: a script is overriding the behavior.


#mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net == the best mIRC help channel
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
J
jerod Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
J
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
/remote on

* Remote is on (Ctcps,Events,Raw)



right click still works

so why would any of it have changed by simply upgrading the program?

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
It randomly started working? If so, we don't have an answer for you-- you're leaving out important details to diagnosing exactly what happened.


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
J
jerod Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
J
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
leaving out what?

All was working well. I upgraded. The right click menu when clicking on a name inside a channel didn't work. I did the suggestions you guys offered up. Still didn't work. Closed the program and reopened it, still didnt work. Read some more in here and nothing. Opened it again and the right click menu worked. There, leaving nothing out. I don't know. Thats truly exactly what happened, as it happened.

argv0, If you don't want to to help, don't. But don't go telling me I'm leaving things out when I was here watching it happen and you weren't. To the rest of you, thanks for your time and efforts.

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
Originally Posted By: jerod
Opened it again and the right click menu worked.


Dear jerod,

Computers are deterministic machines, things don't randomly fix themselves. Closing a program and reopening it is the equivalent of smashing your head against the wall and expecting something other than brain damage. I'm glad it worked for you, but the fact is, something else happened between those attempts. Either you were originally testing the popups incorrectly, or you made another change to your environment or mIRC. Just because you're "sure" nothing else happened, doesn't mean you didn't miss some other important detail. The point is that without this information, we can't help you further by telling you what happened.

In other words, I am trying to help you, but you need to provide more information if you want an answer to your last question:

Originally Posted By: jerod
so why would any of it have changed by simply upgrading the program?


Please don't get mad at me for asking you to provide information; this is the only way we can diagnose your problem. If you want to swear by the fact that absolutely nothing else occurred except for the exact details you listed above, then the answer to your question has to be:

WIZARDS.


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"

Link Copied to Clipboard