mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Topic Options
#23619 - 11/05/03 04:40 AM Customize Toolbar
NewtLives Offline
Mostly harmless

Registered: 11/05/03
Posts: 1
I think it would be great if you could customize the toolbar in the new mIRC version - add buttons as shortcuts to any menu item. Both the user and scripts should be able to add/remove buttons from toolbar.

Top
#23620 - 11/05/03 04:43 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 12/12/02
Posts: 2809
Well I agree, but just as a side note, there are numerous dlls available that allow you to do this.

Top
#23621 - 11/05/03 07:33 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
trenzterra Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 10/12/02
Posts: 196
Yes, but its not convenient. if mirc could do this, it would be very flexible.
_________________________
trenzterra
AustNet #trenzterra and #w
Head Scripter @ http://trenzterra.uni.cc

Top
#23622 - 11/05/03 07:56 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 11/12/02
Posts: 1527
Loc: Florida,USA
how can a dll not be conveiniant?? because u dont understand the format to doing it? ...... if thats all that prevents u then i hardly see how mirc implementing it would help u any ...... it wouldnt make it any simpler to do. u would still have to learn the correct commands to actually do it
_________________________
D3m0nnet.com

Top
#23623 - 11/05/03 08:17 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
neophyte Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 426
Loc: Australia
Yes, but the problem with using DLL's to hack the toolbar, is that it isn't a proper mIRC script "function".

I personally refuse to use a DLL that changes the way my mIRC UI looks, because more often than not, the developer has thrown it together in some hacked up manner, and it will more or less not do what I want it to do.


I recall asking for a similar sort of thing in a thread of mine earlier, however, I wanted to be able to do something similar to this screenshot (which I actually hand edited, I didn't use an dll's or any mIRC script, it was pure photoshop)

http://users.bigpond.net.au/pboy/mircbar.jpg

If future versions of mIRC implemented something like this, it would be damn terrific.
_________________________
--------
mIRC - fun for all the family (except grandma and grandpa)

Top
#23624 - 11/05/03 08:38 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 11/12/02
Posts: 1527
Loc: Florida,USA
that can be done with several different dlls ..... and u dont know till u try them ..... ive never downloaded and used a dll that didnt do exactly as it said .. only because i read up on em and make sure i download from only the developers site ... most ppl who create release versions of something dont want to release it to have found a terrible error ... it just makes them look like a jerk and no one would ever trust thier content again ..... atleast thats been my experiance ...... with that said ..... having something as complex to setup different formats of toolbars is somethign that should be handled by dll ..... simply because of the fact mirc itself cannot end up supporting every single idea someone comes up with ...... now what u may find as an attractive toolbar i may find horrid (im not saying thats so in this case but i think u get the idea ) its just simply easier to handle this in a dll as only a handful of ppl use this such feature anyhow ..... not to mention ..... if mirc were not meant to be modified using dll .. then i dont think khaled would even have support for its functions..... technically in a long round about way there is toolbar modification support already integrated into mirc ..... u just dont like the way there is to do it .....
_________________________
D3m0nnet.com

Top
#23625 - 11/05/03 09:47 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 09/12/02
Posts: 2984
Loc: Hill End, NSW, Australia
What are the last 7 numbers on your timestamp?
_________________________
Induced IRC
irc.induced.net

Top
#23626 - 11/05/03 10:26 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
KingTomato Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 04/01/03
Posts: 3012
Loc: New Hampshire, USA
Loks to me like [TIME]:[IP:PORT] confused
_________________________
-KingTomato

Top
#23627 - 11/05/03 11:08 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
Raccoon Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 18/02/03
Posts: 2590
Actually, they look like [day:month:year:]|[:hour:minute:second:monthsec:minsec]

Not sure wtf 'monthsec' [ms] and 'minsec' [ns] are for, but thats the best I can tell. But as I'm writing this, it was probably an attempt at miliseconds and nanoseconds that looked cool, so he kept it. crazy

- Raccoon
_________________________
Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!

Top
#23628 - 12/05/03 03:08 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
neophyte Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 426
Loc: Australia
[dd:mm:yyyy:|:hh:nn:ss:ms:ns]


oh just some random numbers.


i've stopped using that timestamp.

i now just use [dd:mm:yyyy:|:hh:nn:ss]



But the point about dll's is that you never know if they are malicious in intent, or are not. sure, i have no idea what Khaled could put into mIRC, but it is a piece of software i'd trust before i trust a 3rd part dll that mucks around with the UI.

and as an aside, the original post which i discussed that toolbar, actually asked for it to be made an option, and not as a replacement/default for mIRC.
_________________________
--------
mIRC - fun for all the family (except grandma and grandpa)

Top
#23629 - 12/05/03 03:43 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 09/12/02
Posts: 2984
Loc: Hill End, NSW, Australia
Damn, I was hoping they were milliseconds and was going to ask how you managed to do it. Never mind though, that can wait for another day hehe.
_________________________
Induced IRC
irc.induced.net

Top
#23630 - 12/05/03 05:43 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 11/12/02
Posts: 1527
Loc: Florida,USA
ktools dll is a very well known dll and it has that ability last i checked ... and along with quite a few other well known dlls that perform this same function ..... i think again most ppl wouldnt want to be known as making and distributing a malicious dll ... that would ruin their credibility .... i for one wouldnt ever release something having a backdoor or anything like that in it for anyone ...... i of course just use that as my general rule of thumb .... download ONLY from the creators website
_________________________
D3m0nnet.com

Top
#23631 - 12/05/03 08:10 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
neophyte Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 426
Loc: Australia
I'm not saying that the author of any DLL has done that, and nor am I attacking their credibility, but each to their own, and my own would rather not use something that he can't trust.

And I don't trust most DLL's for mIRC.
_________________________
--------
mIRC - fun for all the family (except grandma and grandpa)

Top
#23632 - 12/05/03 10:21 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
SaX0n Offline
Ameglian cow

Registered: 28/02/03
Posts: 32
Right so we don't need any 32-bit controls added to mIRC, because MDX already does them... And the same for a lot of feature requests.. Why bloat mIRC with them when you can hack together a half-soaked version by combing half a dozen DLL's?

Top
#23633 - 12/05/03 01:14 PM Re: Customize Toolbar
neophyte Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 426
Loc: Australia
Why bloat mIRC with a half a dozen dll's when it can be coded directly into mirc?

I don't think it's much of an issue to open up the ability to create our own toolbars, he already has code running to make toolbars, so why not do it?

Mind you, I'm not exactly a software developer, so I don't completely comprehend it, but if he can already create toolbars, why not allow us to make our own custom ones with a proper mIRC method, rather than using some third party DLL? At least then, the documentation would be easier to understand.
_________________________
--------
mIRC - fun for all the family (except grandma and grandpa)

Top
#23634 - 12/05/03 02:26 PM Re: Customize Toolbar
SaX0n Offline
Ameglian cow

Registered: 28/02/03
Posts: 32
I was being sarcastic, actually I agree with you. There are no toolbar DLL's at all. You have to use a combination of DLL's which is far from easy. I've never seen a toolbar made with MDX.dll and Tbwin.dll (And SendKeys.dll) that is as good as the IE or OE toolbars. Although granted, some are pretty good, this kind of scripting falls into the advanced category, And as i'ts a central part of the mIRC interface, i think it would be better as a mIRC feature, than as a mIRC script.

Top
#23635 - 13/05/03 07:23 AM Re: Customize Toolbar
neophyte Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 426
Loc: Australia
smile
_________________________
--------
mIRC - fun for all the family (except grandma and grandpa)

Top