mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
B
Bertrum Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
When I open mIRC it opens as expected, but when I /server irc.someserver.tld it takes around 10 seconds to respond and actually begin connecting.

Has anybody else experienced this?

Last edited by Bertrum; 04/04/10 05:15 PM.

The IRC Wiki
For everything IRC
http://www.irc-wiki.org
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
What server is "irc.someserver.tld"? It could easily just be the server's fault.


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
B
Bertrum Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Someserver.tld was an example, I thought that would of been obvious.

However, I tried it on conflictirc, nixtrixirc, quakenet, swiftirc, undernet, dalnet, and efnet. On each server I had the same problem.


The IRC Wiki
For everything IRC
http://www.irc-wiki.org
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 139
E
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
E
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 139
Does the same issue occur when you have no scripts loaded?


- Excalibur
- Good and Evil, there never is one without the other.
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
I'm aware it was an example, the point is you should supply an actual server so people (incl. Khaled) can reproduce the issue.

Now that you have, I can say that I have no issues with any of those networks. Are you not seeing this issue in 6.35? Are you testing this without scripts/dlls loaded?


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
B
Bertrum Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
As soon as I started the blank mirc7.0 up, I thought, i'll connect to my network first (conflictirc) I though hmm, how strange, so tried another network I use, nixtrixirc.. The same thing happened... That's why I moved onto using the most common networks and I had the same issue on all of them.. I have had mirc open around 5 hours now and the problem persists.

[edit] I have never experienced this in mirc 6.35, or infact any other version other than this.

I will perhaps try a clean install of mirc7.0 as it seems nobody else has experienced this problem. When I have done this I will reply and let you know if anything has changed.

Last edited by Bertrum; 04/04/10 11:49 PM.

The IRC Wiki
For everything IRC
http://www.irc-wiki.org
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,944
W
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,944
How did you install the new version ?
Originally Posted By: http://www.mirc.com/beta.html
Can the beta use files and settings from an older version of mIRC? Yes, it can, but...

Like all new versions of mIRC, the beta makes changes to the way some items are stored in the mirc.ini file that are not compatible with older versions of mIRC.
You should not run the beta from the same folder as another version of mIRC as they will interfere with each other.
If you want to use files and settings from an older version of mIRC, you should copy them to a new empty folder and then install the beta in that folder.
So if you just used the new .exe file, it could be a conflict with the mirc.ini file, try to make a clean install in a new empty folder.


#mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net == the best mIRC help channel
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
B
Bertrum Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
I installed the new version as guided on the page for the beta.

I installed it on my laptop which didn't have mIRC on it anyway (this was to avoid it conflicting with any previous version)

I have since then, installed it on a portable device, and when I open up the mirc.exe, the same problem occurs, /server takes around 10 seconds to respond.

However, /server -m responds imediately



The IRC Wiki
For everything IRC
http://www.irc-wiki.org
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,171
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,171
I have not been able to reproduce this issue so far - it is odd that you only experience it with /server and not with /server -m, since /server -m has to go through the more complicated process of creating a new status window.

If you use /server -m, then disconnect, and then use /server in that same window, is it still slow?

If you then try /server in the original status window, is it still slow?

Last edited by Khaled; 05/04/10 02:10 PM.
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
B
Bertrum Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
If I use /server -m it works fine. Then as you instructed, I tried /server in the same window as the -m and it worked fine. However in the original status window I still have the same issue.


The IRC Wiki
For everything IRC
http://www.irc-wiki.org
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,171
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,171
Okay, thanks for the feedback, I cannot see a reason why this would happen, so I may need to send you a special beta with debugging information to see if we can narrow this down.


Link Copied to Clipboard