mIRC Homepage

mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server

Posted By: Bertrum

mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server - 04/04/10 05:14 PM

When I open mIRC it opens as expected, but when I /server irc.someserver.tld it takes around 10 seconds to respond and actually begin connecting.

Has anybody else experienced this?
Posted By: argv0

Re: mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server - 04/04/10 06:55 PM

What server is "irc.someserver.tld"? It could easily just be the server's fault.
Posted By: Bertrum

Re: mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server - 04/04/10 10:08 PM

Someserver.tld was an example, I thought that would of been obvious.

However, I tried it on conflictirc, nixtrixirc, quakenet, swiftirc, undernet, dalnet, and efnet. On each server I had the same problem.
Posted By: Excalibur

Re: mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server - 04/04/10 11:35 PM

Does the same issue occur when you have no scripts loaded?
Posted By: argv0

Re: mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server - 04/04/10 11:39 PM

I'm aware it was an example, the point is you should supply an actual server so people (incl. Khaled) can reproduce the issue.

Now that you have, I can say that I have no issues with any of those networks. Are you not seeing this issue in 6.35? Are you testing this without scripts/dlls loaded?
Posted By: Bertrum

Re: mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server - 04/04/10 11:48 PM

As soon as I started the blank mirc7.0 up, I thought, i'll connect to my network first (conflictirc) I though hmm, how strange, so tried another network I use, nixtrixirc.. The same thing happened... That's why I moved onto using the most common networks and I had the same issue on all of them.. I have had mirc open around 5 hours now and the problem persists.

[edit] I have never experienced this in mirc 6.35, or infact any other version other than this.

I will perhaps try a clean install of mirc7.0 as it seems nobody else has experienced this problem. When I have done this I will reply and let you know if anything has changed.
Posted By: Wims

Re: mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server - 04/04/10 11:53 PM

How did you install the new version ?
Originally Posted By: http://www.mirc.com/beta.html
Can the beta use files and settings from an older version of mIRC? Yes, it can, but...

Like all new versions of mIRC, the beta makes changes to the way some items are stored in the mirc.ini file that are not compatible with older versions of mIRC.
You should not run the beta from the same folder as another version of mIRC as they will interfere with each other.
If you want to use files and settings from an older version of mIRC, you should copy them to a new empty folder and then install the beta in that folder.
So if you just used the new .exe file, it could be a conflict with the mirc.ini file, try to make a clean install in a new empty folder.
Posted By: Bertrum

Re: mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server - 05/04/10 12:05 AM

I installed the new version as guided on the page for the beta.

I installed it on my laptop which didn't have mIRC on it anyway (this was to avoid it conflicting with any previous version)

I have since then, installed it on a portable device, and when I open up the mirc.exe, the same problem occurs, /server takes around 10 seconds to respond.

However, /server -m responds imediately

Posted By: Khaled

Re: mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server - 05/04/10 02:06 PM

I have not been able to reproduce this issue so far - it is odd that you only experience it with /server and not with /server -m, since /server -m has to go through the more complicated process of creating a new status window.

If you use /server -m, then disconnect, and then use /server in that same window, is it still slow?

If you then try /server in the original status window, is it still slow?
Posted By: Bertrum

Re: mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server - 05/04/10 07:17 PM

If I use /server -m it works fine. Then as you instructed, I tried /server in the same window as the -m and it worked fine. However in the original status window I still have the same issue.
Posted By: Khaled

Re: mIRC 7.0 -=- Problem with /Server - 06/04/10 02:41 AM

Okay, thanks for the feedback, I cannot see a reason why this would happen, so I may need to send you a special beta with debugging information to see if we can narrow this down.
© 2022 mIRC Discussion Forums