mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 14 of 23 1 2 12 13 14 15 16 22 23
Re: Unable to Connect [Re: aceman] #178474 10/06/07 09:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
SladeKraven Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
Try here. Hope that helps. smile

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: ParaBrat] #179069 17/06/07 07:54 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
H
HalftimeHero Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
H
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Quote:
* Connecting to irc.lunarnet.org (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)
-
* Connect retry #1 68.145.210.57 (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)
-
* Connect retry #2 68.145.210.57 (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)
-
* Connect retry #3 68.145.210.57 (6667)
-
-obsidian.ab.ca.lunarnet.org- *** Looking up your hostname...
-
-obsidian.ab.ca.lunarnet.org- *** Found your hostname (cached)
-
-obsidian.ab.ca.lunarnet.org- *** Checking ident...
-
-obsidian.ab.ca.lunarnet.org- *** No ident response; username prefixed with ~
-
Closing Link: HalftimeHero[72.70.195.73] (Ping timeout)
-
* Disconnected
-
* Connect retry #4 68.145.210.57 (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)


Can someone please help me? I cannot seem to connect to that server no matter how many times I try it.

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: HalftimeHero] #179071 17/06/07 07:59 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
I just connected with no problems using irc.lunarnet.org

Additionally when I did connect I got this notice
Quote:
15:57:43 -Global- [Logon News - Jul 27 2006] In case of problems, IPs: Eldrasia - 85.189.72.13, RPGCafe - 69.90.127.232, Obsidian - 70.72.131.243, Castleheck - 209.223.7.197


Maybe that'll help you.

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: RusselB] #179072 17/06/07 08:08 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
H
HalftimeHero Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
H
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Everyone else that also goes onto that server seems to be able to connect besides me. I'm not really sure what the problem is.

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: HalftimeHero] #179095 17/06/07 10:36 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
it's almost impossible to help you resolve a problem that only you seem to be having. Sorry.

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: RusselB] #179097 17/06/07 10:41 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
H
HalftimeHero Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
H
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Other people have had the problem but they said if they wait a few minutes it will eventually connect. I've waited for it to go through 50 something retries but still it doesn't work. I can connect to every other server except for this one.

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: HalftimeHero] #179105 18/06/07 12:12 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Did you try connecting to any of the IPs that RussellB suggested?

/server IP


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Unable to Connect [Re: Riamus2] #179107 18/06/07 01:35 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
H
HalftimeHero Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
H
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Yes, it usually switches to them automatically after it fails the actual irc.lunarnet.org itself but I also tried them manually and it still fails to work.

EDIT: Throughout my previous attempts of today I got a new message
Quote:
-castleheck.tx.us.lunarnet.org- *** If you are having problems connecting due to ping timeouts, please type /quote pong 3DCC28A0 or /raw pong 3DCC28A0 now.


but.. when I type it in nothing seems to happen?

Last edited by HalftimeHero; 18/06/07 01:39 AM.
Re: Unable to Connect [Re: ParaBrat] #179753 27/06/07 04:09 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
D
durkadurkastan Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
I just recently had comcast come to my house to service my connection, he said he had to replace the connection out at the pole and the box it connects to outside my house. Before all this i could log onto IRC no problem, but now it's like its not even finding an internet connection to attempt connecting to a server. Could any settings have changed that cause just irc to not work? I can play online games and surf web pages but no irc. Or can I just quick fix the problem and reinstall mirc?

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: durkadurkastan] #179754 27/06/07 04:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,016
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,016
It's just a coincidence that it happened just after getting the repairs done, but since you obviously have a network connection (online games and web surfing) chances are it's the IRC server to which you're trying to connect that's the problem. Try a different server on your IRC network, try a server on a different network before trying to change any settings on your machine.

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: ParaBrat] #180580 11/07/07 05:27 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
D
DAE42 Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
I'm using WinXP Home Edition and MIRC Version 6.21 (registered). I can't connect to anything and I simply get "Unable to Connect to Server" messages repeatedly.

Please help me...thanks!

DAE

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: DAE42] #180582 11/07/07 05:50 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
C
Constantine Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
C
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
Any firewalls installed? What type of router? (if fitted) home or college? see? loads of questions need answering. THEN maybe someone can help


Happy mIRC user on Linux
Re: Unable to Connect [Re: Constantine] #180584 11/07/07 06:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
D
DAE42 Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
At home using DSL modem. All firewalls are shut down, and I would disable XP firewall too if I knew how. Is that enough info?

Thanks much, D

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: DAE42] #180585 11/07/07 06:25 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
D
DAE42 Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Should I uninstall and reinstall...I feel like MIRC let me in the first time, but it hasn't worked since.

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: DAE42] #180588 11/07/07 07:20 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
C
Constantine Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
C
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
It may be worth trying however even after shutting down certain firewalls they remain active depending which ones you are using of course.
As for xp's firewall uhm pass never used it sorry


Happy mIRC user on Linux
Re: Unable to Connect [Re: DAE42] #180593 11/07/07 08:51 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
To disable the Windows firewall:

1)
"Classic" menu in XP or pre-XP menus:
Start Menu > Settings > Control Panel

XP themed menus (probably the same in Vista):
Start Menu > Control Panel

2)
"Classic" View of Control Panel in XP (or pre-XPs):
Click on Windows Firewall

"Category" View in XP (probably the same in Vista):
Click on Security Center > Windows Firewall

Once there, just disable it.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Unable to Connect [Re: Riamus2] #180659 12/07/07 06:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
D
DAE42 Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
I think MIRC let me in the first time but hasn't since. Is there a way to reset all of my initial settings AND uninstall/re-install for a clean start?

Thanks again,
D

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: DAE42] #180676 12/07/07 10:08 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Uninstall mIRC using the Add/Remove Programs section in Windows Control Panel.
Download the mIRC installation program from here
Install mIRC and if it asks if you want to keep or override anything, use the override option.

Re: Unable to Connect [Re: Mentality] #180790 13/07/07 08:35 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
G
Govo Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
G
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
incomplete (unable to connect)
that message appears when i try to download something
the file is sent to me but the download doesn't complete
can u help me????

Last edited by Govo; 13/07/07 08:36 PM.
Re: Unable to Connect [Re: Govo] #180791 13/07/07 08:42 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,016
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,016
DCC connection problems are almost always on the senders end.

Page 14 of 23 1 2 12 13 14 15 16 22 23