mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165364 25/11/06 07:07 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
M
Morien Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Hi everyone,

Up until till two days ago, I could DCC send/chat perfectly, all my port settings where fine and router was forwarding perfectly. Then suddenly I started getting

[10053] Software caused connection abort, whenever I tried to send a file or initiate a chat. The other parties *are* getting my proper IP address though (not my internal IP). I don't know what could have changed and the only program I've installed is Acrobat 8. Every other net application I have is working fine, its only irc clients and only when I try to DCC send. DCC receives are working fine. There's no ISP disconnect either. Any ideas on things to try?

Morien

Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165365 25/11/06 08:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Is your ISP british telecom aka a BT network?

There experencing "technical difficulties" whch translates to there disconnecting you from the irc server anytime they detect a dcc session message (on purpose).

See if u can manually invoke the disconnection by typeing

//msg not-a-real-nick $chr(1) $+ DCC CHAT chat 2130706433 1024

Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165366 25/11/06 11:50 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
M
Morien Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
That doesn't seem to do anything specific for me, but yes it is BTinternet. Who, I have to say, have therefore lied to me not only once about the source of the problem, but have asked I pay 25 to even open a case to discuss it..

Incredible..

Do you have any more information about the problem Carpal?

Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165367 26/11/06 12:04 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
K
Kid_Ying Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
K
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
I am on BT Broadband aswell and am also unable to send/receive DCC

Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165368 26/11/06 12:29 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 612
B
billythekid Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 612
yeah this just started for me too, also on BT. I suspected it was them when a friend of mine in the states had gets break and it turned out to be her ISP too. I am able to send fine, and the get trouble is intermittent as I managed to recieve a .jpg from someone fine, but a .zip and a .mp3 both said no.

I don't use the default ports either I wonder how they do it.

Time for mass calls to BT I think.

btk


billythekid
Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165369 27/11/06 01:34 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
W
w1ngnut Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
W
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
i am also on bt internet , until 4 days ago everything was working fine , but now i can no longer send or receive files ?

Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165370 27/11/06 01:51 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Nothing you can do about it except start bugging them constantly to fix the problem.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165371 27/11/06 06:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 612
B
billythekid Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 612


billythekid
Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165372 27/11/06 09:21 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
you know how you fix that problem billy

You send them a letter telling them "I seem to be unable to read your bill, untill you send me more info on how i can resolve this problem I wont be able to do so, so expect delays in recieving your bill payment" then put a small note at the bottom, saying " I beleive this issue may be connected to your blocking of IRC DCC sessions " if u dont think so well please send me your reasoning in triplicate so i can not read them either "

Try a SSL connection, if the irc traffic is encrypted one would logic that they cant detect the strings there using to trip the disconenct on.

Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165373 29/11/06 12:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
N
NoZparker Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
N
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
Try a SSL connection, if the irc traffic is encrypted one would logic that they cant detect the strings there using to trip the disconenct on.

Well Dave you hit the nail on the head there
I sent it to a user, he tried it and it works.

instructions:-
install win32openssl on your computer
in tools options .. connect / servers, add a new connection
Description = Summat like "ssl connection"
IRC Server = either irc.yournetwork.com or an individual server . note , change yournetwork.com to that of teh network you are on.
ports = +6697 note . must have the +
Group = What ever group you choose.
then go to options under connect and click on retry
uncheck "try next server in group"
ok all the way out of tools options and then reconnect
that's it .....
a good source for win32openssl is :-
http://www.slproweb.com/products/Win32OpenSSL.html

Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165374 29/11/06 02:35 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
M
Morien Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Is there a way to use this workaround on a server that doesn't support SSL?

Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165375 30/11/06 07:46 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
N
NoZparker Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
N
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
actually i forgot to mention The server must support ssl and you will need the latest ver of mirc

Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165376 02/12/06 10:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
P
PJ_THE_DJ Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
P
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
mad
Regarding all these messages regarding the issue with bt. i would like to add the following ,,
i have been dcc ing for years and only 2 weeks ago i started having the same probs , so i phoned bt ,(oh by the way ,,, i live in Cardiff, South Wales)
they give me the usual garbage about lets try run, command ,ipconfig ,etc,saying yes you are getting out ,,, but when i explained about i cant dcc send or recieve ,they said ,,,, we understand your concern,,,, well i think that they are following a strict protocol in saying ,,we understand your concern ,,,,cos i think that if they answer with something that just comes out of their heads ,, they may slip up..
I told the man that i know the problem concerning 6667, and you know, but youWONT tell me ,,,, he just said ,,,we understand your concern,,,,,,, hmmmmmmmm i wonder if we are talking to bots when we ring these places,,,,,

Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send #165377 03/12/06 03:38 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
Quote:
mmmmmmmm i wonder if we are talking to bots when we ring these places


probably not, but I'd put money on it that they're reading from a script and don't really know the difference between "tech support" and telemarketing.


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink
Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send [Re: Morien] #166102 06/12/06 11:02 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
A
axia Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
A
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
BT's antics are just another thorn in the side of DCC transfer.
We at irc.chillbase.net have introduced web transfer (only need port 80 open) for those that have trouble configuring routers etc.
This of course solves the BT problem too.
Feel free to try it if you wish.......
log on to server...moorland.chillbase.net
go to channel #support, and register.
after registering, go to #miracle and follow screen instructions.
And thats all there is to it.
It's pure leech, no need to set up any sharing script.
Just type !find <filename>
I hope this solves your problems folks.
Sorry forgot to mention, this is a karaoke network.

Last edited by axia; 06/12/06 11:08 AM.
Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send [Re: PJ_THE_DJ] #166557 12/12/06 11:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
S
sandrame Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
S
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Hi, I too am having loads of problems with Bt, mirc is always disconnecting,freezing,not sending,i'm being ignored, you name it, so I rang Bt last night and was on for over an hour with them promising me that they would fix my problems but it hasnt worked unfortunatley, and i'm pretty gutted cause i've only just joined Bt and have signed up to a 12 month contract. Sake.............

Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send [Re: sandrame] #166618 13/12/06 12:36 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
N
NoZparker Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
N
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
I am constantly hearing rumours that the music industry has bought into British Telecom and are insisting that they block dcc sends
BT will deny it, cos they know they will have no customers. when you call BT you are talking to someone in India who didn't know what a computer looked like until the 4th day of their training.
They do not know what is irc or has ever heard or irc.
However for every problem there is a solution.
http://www.slproweb.com/products/Win32OpenSSL.html
for a copy of win32openssl.exe

this way you can connect to any network that supports ssl and get your files.
and hello axia ... how are ya .. slev still around?


ps ... don't forget to upgrade to mirc ver 6.21

Last edited by NoZparker; 13/12/06 12:39 AM.
Re: Software caused connection abort on DCC Send [Re: sandrame] #166649 13/12/06 02:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Originally Posted By: sandrame
and have signed up to a 12 month contract. Sake.............


Ugh... If at all possible, AVOID ever signing up for a year contract on most things - especially internet and website hosting. You'll only regret it later. If that's your only internet provider and they only allow you to use them if you sign the year contract, then there isn't much you can do... but if you have a choice, don't sign any year long contracts.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net