mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
IE browser freeze-up #161779 10/10/06 10:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
J
jamie360 Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
J
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
When I have mIRC installed, latest version with IE 6 or & it freezes my browser. I had to delete mIRC and miss it. This is since I went to cable and use their anti virus. Any ideas?
almpond360@charter.net

Re: IE browser freeze-up #161780 11/10/06 12:08 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
You'll need to be more specific. When does the browser freeze? When you click an IRC link? When you start it up and try any page? Something else?

What cable company do you use? Is it charter like your e-mail suggests? What antivirus do they give you to use?


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: IE browser freeze-up #161781 11/10/06 12:23 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Chances are it's the anti-virus software. Because of mIRC's scripting abilities most AV software is very aggressive when checking it, which can lead to system slowdown etc.. Might be worth turning off the AV program just to test if it's the thing causing the problem and if it is see about setting it up so it ignores mIRC.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: IE browser freeze-up #161782 12/10/06 05:52 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
M
Mardeg Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
M
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Given a choice between mIRC and IE to not use, I wouldn't pick mIRC wink

Re: IE browser freeze-up #161783 14/10/06 04:29 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
J
jamie360 Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
J
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Yes, I use charter cable and they have a Security Suite. I downloaded mIRC and installed it, It works fine, if I do not shut it down I can not bring up IE version 6 or the new beta 7. If I restart the computer I can get the browser to come up. This is all with the Security Suite UNLOADED. I wanted to rule out the virus protection as the problem. My corrected email is
almond360@charter.net