mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
P
paulgr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
P
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
a couple of days ago people try to access my server and it won't work. A user told me the following:

if a ~ appears before your name it blocks access to your server,however there is no ~. also he said the 3rd number has to be at least 200 and i think it's 96. I have a wireless cable modem/router but it was working until a couple of days ago. any idea how to fix this problem? i appreciate the help in advance.

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 210
F
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
F
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 210
Quote:
a couple of days ago people try to access my server and it won't work. A user told me the following:

if a ~ appears before your name it blocks access to your server,however there is no ~. also he said the 3rd number has to be at least 200 and i think it's 96.
Nonsense.
Quote:
I have a wireless cable modem/router but it was working until a couple of days ago. any idea how to fix this problem? i appreciate the help in advance.
Do you have your DCC ports forwarded to your computer? And mIRC bypassed in any firewall?

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,835
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,835
Quote:
if a ~ appears before your name it blocks access to your server [snip]


The ~ indicates that identd is not enabled. If you have it turned on, and still see the ~, then something is blocking identd. People often assume ~ or your identd settings is blocking your dcc sends, but it is not the *cause* of dcc-send problems, it is often the victim, along with dcc send, of whatever is blocking your dcc sends. You enable the identd port 113 the same way you enable your dcc-send ports, so something blocking one often blocks the other.

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Did you forward the dcc ports to your pc in the router?
And if so are you still on the same IP as your pc was on when you forward them? (test using /LOCALINFO -h wait 5 seconds //echo -a $ip /LOCALINFO -u do while connected)

This maybe usefull > www.portforward.com for setting up a router and setting a static IP

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
P
paulgr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
P
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
i can do the /localinfo -h thing on my own it's just no one can get in it still.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
P
paulgr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
P
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
anyone?

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 210
F
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
F
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 210
Do you have your DCC ports forwarded to your computer? And mIRC bypassed in any firewall?

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
P
paulgr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
P
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
the only thing i have up as far as firewall goes is windows firewall that came with Windows XP Service Pack 2. would this be the problem?

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 210
F
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
F
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 210
That's one - your router is the other. Go to http://www.portforward.com. Find your router, then look at the instructions for DCC and IdentD. You should turn the Windows firewall off if you're using a router - it's just a waste of CPU cycles.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
P
paulgr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
P
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
i've already been here and i had it set up but now it's not so i don't know what to do.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
P
paulgr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
P
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
i guess i'll never get this server working. frown

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
P
paulgr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
P
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
hello?

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
/localinfo -h
^ that means set ya IP to the LAN ip, no one can reach you then

/localinfo -u
^ that means set your IP to the WAN ip (your internet ip normally), and then when people try and get in they reach the router, that must then forward the ports to your pc.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
P
paulgr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
P
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
so by typing /localinfo -u people should be able to access my server?

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,835
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,835
/localinfo -u
updates your host/ip in case they have the wrong values.
Are you able to open a dcc-chat window with someone? /dcc chat NICK
Are you able to dcc send a file to someone? /dcc send NICK versions.txt
Were you able to dcc send before?
That tells us whether it's a problem relating with just the fserve, or also with dcc's in general.

If you're sure your router has been set up to make dcc's, make sure you haven't been dynamically given a different ip address than before. ie your ports forwarded to 192.168.1.101 but your ip is now 192.168.1.102

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
P
paulgr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
P
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
when i typed /localinfo -u it says the same thing it does before i type it in. frown i'm confused.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,835
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,835
and regarding the other questions i asked?

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
P
paulgr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
P
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
what do you mean?

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
P
paulgr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
P
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 153
i did about everything you told me so far and i can't access it. Perhaps if you can find a time,maybe you can come on my dalnet channel i'm on and maybe you can help me figure this out faster.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,835
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,835
localhost was only my first sentence. I also asked:

Are you able to open a dcc-chat window with someone? /dcc chat NICK
Are you able to dcc send a file to someone? /dcc send NICK versions.txt
Were you able to dcc send before?
That tells us whether it's a problem relating with just the fserve, or also with dcc's in general.

If you're sure your router has been set up to make dcc's, make sure you haven't been dynamically given a different ip address than before. ie your ports forwarded to 192.168.1.101 but your ip is now 192.168.1.102

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard