mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
deleting lines #157196 23/08/06 06:30 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 307
N
nataliad Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 307
when I have a script that will msg a person with a very long line, mirc will simply delete the whooole script

Re: deleting lines #157197 23/08/06 07:13 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Just how long of a line are you sending when you notice this?

Re: deleting lines #157198 24/08/06 05:14 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
D
Dromedary Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
D
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
i actually noticed this i think back in mirc 5.9. my solution was to never do that again. my very long line was a replace list. i was quite upset when it happened.

lesson learned, not to try that again. i believe it would have resulted in a line too long error anyway, but deleting the whole script is a bit drastic.

Re: deleting lines #157199 24/08/06 05:46 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
I just tried sending myself a constantly increasingly long line, starting at 800 characters and limiting it to 1000 characters (which is sufficient to cause the line too long error), and it worked exactly the way I expected it to, and the script that I wrote for this process was still present, so I'm unable to duplicate this problem.

If you can replicate the problem and provide a sample code, it will be helpful to all of us considering this report.

Re: deleting lines #157200 24/08/06 06:19 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
D
Dromedary Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
D
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
like i said, i discovered it back in mirc 5.9 i believe, so i have no clue what i did and had no code remaining for proving it.

i believe what i did was similar to this though:

set %mysring $replace(texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith)

all on one line, or something drastic like that. iirc when i clicked ok i tried out the script and it didn't work, so i went back into the scripts editor only to find that my script was gone.

Re: deleting lines #157201 24/08/06 01:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
the script editor has a maximum line length... it would be nice if you could just simply not enter more then that but alas, you can and it will be truncated...

something to solve this problem is to use $& to span stuff over multiple lines


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Re: deleting lines #157202 24/08/06 03:11 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,897
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,897
I can't seem to reproduce this issue here. Can you post the specific line that causes this problem?

Re: deleting lines #157203 26/08/06 05:34 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 201
J
Jae Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
J
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 201
When entering in a long line in a script ie
if (something == something) || (somethingelse == somethingelse) || etc..
if the line gets too long and i press the { } button the whole line dissapeared. im asuming this is the long line in script editor bug referred to?

Re: deleting lines #157204 26/08/06 04:57 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
G
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
G
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
I've confirmed this bug. I made a line that was longer than 949 characters (excluding the spaced added by [{}] button and excluding the crlf at the end of line).

When I clicked the [{}] button (or hit OK on the editor and reopened it), the long line was completely gone.

I used this code to test it:
Code:
alias x {
if (%a = 1234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678) echo -a aa
if (%b = 12345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789) echo -a bb
{
if (%c = 12345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789) echo -a cc
}
}


Copy that exact code to your editor (ensure that each line is hard against the left side of the text box area), and hit [{}]. The first long line should remain, and the second long line should disappear. The {}'s around the third line demonstrate that the amount of indent has no effect.

Note: The lines can be easily identified by the %a %b %c in the if statement.

-genius_at_work

Re: deleting lines #157205 26/08/06 05:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,552
maroon Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,552
Had to clean up the lines in text editor before they'd paste correctly. I'm not finding that the script gets deleted as the thread originally starts with. Instead, the %b = and %c = lines both disappear in mIRC 6.2.

Same thing happens in mIRC 6.16, but in 5.91 it instead only chopped the last letter of the bb and cc echo values.

Re: deleting lines #157206 26/08/06 10:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
G
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
G
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
When you are copying code from this forum, you should paste it into windows Wordpad and then copy it again from there and paste it into the mIRC editor. That will elimitate having the code appear on one long line.

-genius_at_work

Re: deleting lines #157207 27/08/06 12:53 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,897
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,897
Thanks this has been fixed for the next version.

Re: deleting lines #157208 29/08/06 10:16 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 201
J
Jae Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
J
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 201
Quote:
Thanks this has been fixed for the next version.

I am starting to wonder if its worth you investing in a new keyboard with how many things are being fixed up and so quickly. Keep up the good work smile