mIRC Homepage

deleting lines

Posted By: nataliad

deleting lines - 23/08/06 06:30 AM

when I have a script that will msg a person with a very long line, mirc will simply delete the whooole script
Posted By: RusselB

Re: deleting lines - 23/08/06 07:13 AM

Just how long of a line are you sending when you notice this?
Posted By: Dromedary

Re: deleting lines - 24/08/06 05:14 AM

i actually noticed this i think back in mirc 5.9. my solution was to never do that again. my very long line was a replace list. i was quite upset when it happened.

lesson learned, not to try that again. i believe it would have resulted in a line too long error anyway, but deleting the whole script is a bit drastic.
Posted By: RusselB

Re: deleting lines - 24/08/06 05:46 AM

I just tried sending myself a constantly increasingly long line, starting at 800 characters and limiting it to 1000 characters (which is sufficient to cause the line too long error), and it worked exactly the way I expected it to, and the script that I wrote for this process was still present, so I'm unable to duplicate this problem.

If you can replicate the problem and provide a sample code, it will be helpful to all of us considering this report.
Posted By: Dromedary

Re: deleting lines - 24/08/06 06:19 AM

like i said, i discovered it back in mirc 5.9 i believe, so i have no clue what i did and had no code remaining for proving it.

i believe what i did was similar to this though:

set %mysring $replace(texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith)

all on one line, or something drastic like that. iirc when i clicked ok i tried out the script and it didn't work, so i went back into the scripts editor only to find that my script was gone.
Posted By: Doqnach

Re: deleting lines - 24/08/06 01:08 PM

the script editor has a maximum line length... it would be nice if you could just simply not enter more then that but alas, you can and it will be truncated...

something to solve this problem is to use $& to span stuff over multiple lines
Posted By: Khaled

Re: deleting lines - 24/08/06 03:11 PM

I can't seem to reproduce this issue here. Can you post the specific line that causes this problem?
Posted By: Jae

Re: deleting lines - 26/08/06 05:34 AM

When entering in a long line in a script ie
if (something == something) || (somethingelse == somethingelse) || etc..
if the line gets too long and i press the { } button the whole line dissapeared. im asuming this is the long line in script editor bug referred to?
Posted By: genius_at_work

Re: deleting lines - 26/08/06 04:57 PM

I've confirmed this bug. I made a line that was longer than 949 characters (excluding the spaced added by [{}] button and excluding the crlf at the end of line).

When I clicked the [{}] button (or hit OK on the editor and reopened it), the long line was completely gone.

I used this code to test it:
Code:
alias x {
if (%a = 1234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678) echo -a aa
if (%b = 12345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789) echo -a bb
{
if (%c = 12345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789) echo -a cc
}
}


Copy that exact code to your editor (ensure that each line is hard against the left side of the text box area), and hit [{}]. The first long line should remain, and the second long line should disappear. The {}'s around the third line demonstrate that the amount of indent has no effect.

Note: The lines can be easily identified by the %a %b %c in the if statement.

-genius_at_work
Posted By: maroon

Re: deleting lines - 26/08/06 05:34 PM

Had to clean up the lines in text editor before they'd paste correctly. I'm not finding that the script gets deleted as the thread originally starts with. Instead, the %b = and %c = lines both disappear in mIRC 6.2.

Same thing happens in mIRC 6.16, but in 5.91 it instead only chopped the last letter of the bb and cc echo values.
Posted By: genius_at_work

Re: deleting lines - 26/08/06 10:24 PM

When you are copying code from this forum, you should paste it into windows Wordpad and then copy it again from there and paste it into the mIRC editor. That will elimitate having the code appear on one long line.

-genius_at_work
Posted By: Khaled

Re: deleting lines - 27/08/06 12:53 PM

Thanks this has been fixed for the next version.
Posted By: Jae

Re: deleting lines - 29/08/06 10:16 AM

Quote:
Thanks this has been fixed for the next version.

I am starting to wonder if its worth you investing in a new keyboard with how many things are being fixed up and so quickly. Keep up the good work smile
© 2021 mIRC Discussion Forums