Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#128617 27/08/05 11:02 PM
S
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Hi, I have a text file that keeps a list of username and ips. In the list are some duplicate names but with a different ip. I have a command !search <name> that searches the text for the name and then messages the result to the channel. But the problem is that it only returns the first result found and not all of them. How can it be changed to return all results found?

Example

[Joe] !search Joe
[Me] 3 results found for 'Joe'
[Me] Joe - 127.0.0.1
[Me] Joe - 192.168.1.1
[Me] Joe - 192.168.254.254
[Me] Finished search database.

Here is my code

on 1:text:!search *:#mychannel:{
msg #mychannel $read(database.txt,w,$2)
}

I looked in mirc help but I did not find anything that helps, I am not very good at mirc scripting.

Also, how can I make an autoresponse in query if the first character of a message is not an exclamation point ( ! ).

I tried this but it doesn't work

on 1:text:*:?:{
if ($right($1,1) != $chr(33)) { msg $nick You are talking to a bot. }
}

#128618 27/08/05 11:54 PM
B
Babel fish
Babel fish
B
I'm not sure if that can be done with $read. As it only finds the 1st instance of the search parameter. You COULD put all of the ips after one another in the text file.

Like joe - 127.0.0.1, 192.168.1.1, 192.168.254.254

Then it would return all of them.

#128619 28/08/05 12:05 AM
S
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Well if not $read then is there something else that can do it? I would rather keep the format the same rather than put all IP in one line. The list is big and only gets bigger, I would have to manually change the format because it puts the IP in the list automatically on join.

#128620 28/08/05 03:23 AM
L
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
L
Quote: