mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Why does it open a new mirc when clickin a weblink #126525 31/07/05 03:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
O
ouafouaf Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
O
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
I just reinstalled windows 2000
When i click on a irc link from a webpage (irc:// etc), it opens a new mirc each time ! I'd like better to connect on the same mirc ^^
How could i fix it ?
I'm using last mirc, with last firefox

Any idea ?

Re: Why does it open a new mirc when clickin a web #126526 01/08/05 12:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
O
ouafouaf Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
O
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
noone can help ? smirk

Re: Why does it open a new mirc when clickin a web #126527 01/08/05 12:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Do you happen to have two copies of mIRC installed on your computer? If so, you might be running one copy, but your browser is trying to use the other copy.

Even if that isn't the case, the problem lies with how your browser handles the IRC links.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Why does it open a new mirc when clickin a web #126528 01/08/05 01:43 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
O
ouafouaf Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
O
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
i'm using firefox
and i cant find anyway to deal with the irc links on firefox

Re: Why does it open a new mirc when clickin a web #126529 01/08/05 02:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
I believe you change that for all browsers in the same spot in Windows. I don't have time right now to look it up, though. Google might help you find information on it.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Why does it open a new mirc when clickin a web #126530 27/08/05 12:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 96
J
Jesper Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
J
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 96
Seems like you have mIRC installed twice.
when you click on irc:// in MSIE or FF they will always open the LAST installed mIRC (unless "listen for hotlinks" is disabled).
The reason is that your latest install of mIRC overwrites the registry settings for previous installations.

Fix: Simply install mIRC ontop of your primary install or go change all the data/info in the registry file.