mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Tab handling in the script editor. #94369 16/08/04 12:23 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 228
S
Seifer Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 228
I think the tab key would be better if it was handle as a 'tab' rather than switching focus in the script editor. I use Notepad a lot for writing HTML, CSS, etc. and I'm constantly using tab to indent each line. I think it would be good if the script editor would handle tab the same way.

Sorry if this has already been suggested, my search didn't return anything.

Re: Tab handling in the script editor. #94370 16/08/04 12:25 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Perhaps it should. In case you don't know though, you can get a tab by using Ctrl+I.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: Tab handling in the script editor. #94371 16/08/04 12:35 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 228
S
Seifer Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 228
I'm aware of Ctrl+I, however, if you use it in a dialog table for example, it returns the following errors:
* /dialog: 'test' invalid table, in 'title[ tab ]'
* /dialog: 'test' invalid table, in '[ tab ]title'
[ tab ] of course being the tab character ($chr(9)).

Edit: the error depending on where the tab is used, they're not both returned.

Last edited by Seifer; 16/08/04 12:37 AM.
Re: Tab handling in the script editor. #94372 16/08/04 10:49 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
The only way to avoid that is if the Script Editor converted the Tab button into a certain amount of spaces (even if it used tab-alignment to figure out how many spaces to use).


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.