mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
B
btc Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
B
Hey, there. I'm starting to really get into customizing my IRC client. One of the things I think I will never be able to script is the following feature, so I'll request it here.

This would go under the Display>Options>Line Options box as "First-line Hanging". When enabled, it would look something like this:

Code:
<btc>  This is a long line of text that I'd like to
       see tucked under parallel with the username.

Though I'm not a programmer, I can foresee some of the difficulties in coding this (variable nick lengths, variable width fonts), so you could code it to hang the text at a certain pixel distance from the left side of the window. This is a step in the right direction, but doesn't quite achieve what I'm after.

That said, this option would also have to include some manner of mandatory username length/truncation. (So the username displayed is always exactly this many characters wide.) This still doesn't solve the variable width font, and this is a very specific cosmetic request that I'd like to have.

Code:
<     btc> This is a line of text.  It will carry
           over to the next line.
<JuliusCe> hey