mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Setting up an irc server #9422 02/02/03 10:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
T
TomT Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
I am attempting to set up a local irc server to allow easy testing of scripts. The particular software i am attempting to use does not respond to mIRC's $network request.

Can you tell me if $network is requesting a specific numeric from the server. I believe I have the ability to insert responses in the servers setup, but I am not sure what I need to respond to?

Any help?

Re: Setting up an irc server #9423 02/02/03 11:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 395
M
MonoSex Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 395
mIRC gets $network info from numerics 001 ("Welcome to the [network] IRC network...") and 005 (".... NETWORK=[network] are available on this server"). Both you get upon connecting (and sometimes after using /version).

There are not many daemons not sending this, the only one i know of is IRCnet's IRCd.
It can be easily coded in, if you know C :tongue:

Re: Setting up an irc server #9424 02/02/03 11:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
T
TomT Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
That was the exact information I needed. Modified the 001 and 005 response lines to include the server name and mIRC is now very happy finding the $network for me.. thanks so much!