mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#90028 11/07/04 01:24 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
F
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
F
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Well due to the heavy debate going on with mozilla and the shell: exeuction bug.

I found out it also works with mirc just by doing /run shell: command.

It's very open to exploits, so maybe you should consider limiting or disabling it.

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 384
D
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 384
-
* /run: unable to open 'shell:'
-

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
F
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
F
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Shell: is just the protocol, you have to actually specify something.

shell:.mp3 will open your default mp3 player

And amongst others are some internal windows commands/libraries/whatever, which can lead to actual code execution, buffer overflows and etc.

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 384
D
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 384
Ah yes. Now it works if I do /run shell: .mp3

Curiously, it doesn't work if you specify a file with a path. Such as: /run shell: D:\TestFile.txt

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
This is just another possibly abused command that can be avoided if users take proper precautionary methods to protect their computers - methods which are constantly repeated in various threads on this forum and on various websites.

For people that may be worried about this you may wish to disable the /run command in mIRC:

ALT+O > Other > Lock and check the box "Disable run, dll, com commands".

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
F
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
F
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Nope cause it isn't done like that. However i do know it's possible to trigger installers. So it will be possible to both silently install and uninstall.

Also it is possible to run any program in your windows directory. and subdirectories.

Which makes it possible to also start services, like telnet server.

Mentality i know you can lock that, but that feature is kinda general. If it was possible to do it more advanced, like specify what parameters etc.

Although you could say /run is dangerous as it is.

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 871
Sat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 871
Quote:
Well due to the heavy debate going on with mozilla and the shell: exeuction bug.

I found out it also works with mirc just by doing /run shell: command.

The key difference being, that URLs in mozilla aren't supposed to execute programs, and mIRC's /run is specifically designed to do just that; you can already run anything using /run without the "shell:" thing anyway, so how exactly is this an issue?


Saturn, QuakeNet staff
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 214
S
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 214
Try this:

/run .doc
/run shell:.doc

*runs*


one step closer to world domination
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Your point being?


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 214
S
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 214
useless smile


one step closer to world domination
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
I don't see how the shell: protocol could be useful either, but since it's there, chances are it's useful to some smile


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
I assume shell: is an NT/XP only feature?


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
O
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
O
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
It doesn't exist in my 98SE either.

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 157
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 157
yes, it dosen't exist in my windows ME too

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 66
C
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
C
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 66
On Windows 2000, when I do:

/run shell: .mp3

A dialog pops up that says 'The folder 'shell: .mp3:' does not exist'. I am assuming this is a feature of Windows XP or NT 4.0.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
G
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
G
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
well there is another way to limit /run actually without disabling all of it.
Code:
.run {
if ($1 == notepad.exe) {
run $1-
}
if ($1 == cmd.exe) {
run $1-
}
}

it should only run the executables you want. I know the script looks stupid cause it seems like it will go on a loop forever cause you make it do /run again after you type /run on your textbox, but im too bored so i tried it. And it works.
enjoy the script bro.

by the way, i made a different script, the same thing but it wont work. I'm not really sure whats wrong with it.

Code:
.run {
%i = 1
while (%i < $lines(list.txt)) {
if ($read(list.txt , %i) == $1) {
/run $1-
return
}
inc %i
}
}

Now as you can see it's the same as my example #1, but this one doesn't work. It wont do anything.
i got other variations too, like putting them all into a variable instead of if ($1 == $read(etc.etc.)) i used a %variable instead but it still doesn't work. The first one is the only one that works. Anyone wanna help figure out what the difference is and why it works out on the first and not this one?

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
T
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
run {
if ($read(list.txt,wn,$1-)) { run $1- }
}

This alias can be bypassed with /!run though.


New username: hixxy

Link Copied to Clipboard