mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
J
jonat3 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
J
Hello,i'm new and a total noob with routers and stuff and i've read some faqs, but i haven't found anything that would help me.

Ok, i have a q-tech 4-port broadband router, with 2 computers attached. One of my computers just crashed and that happened to be the computer i could access port 59, etc to access fserves. The other computer cannot access these ports. The reason why remains a mystery for me. I also noticed that when i try to go to 192.168.1.1 with internet explorer (on the still working computer) it says "connection refused". I could access this site on the crashed comp when it was still working, but not on the one still working.

Btw, i had DMZ enabled and i have XP Home on the comp still working and professional on the other.

Can anyone help me configure my comp/router/mirc to access these ports on my computer?

S
Vogon poet
Vogon poet
S
sometimes when windows crashes for some reason it resets your IP's
in windows98 the solution was easy you go to Start Run and typed in winipcfg and in the box that appears choose >> More Info then select your Ethernet Adapter from the drop down list, click on [Release All]
wait around 5 seconds and click [Renew All]..assuming your router is running a DHCP server...wich it should be, your Internal IP numbers should resort to 192.168.1.xxx
and you would then be able to access http://192.168.1.1

now XP seems a different kettle of fish <moan groan> i hate the thing, probably 1 of the reasons i moved to linux (end of rant) btw that's a personal opinion i'm not looking to start a distro/os war smile

Anyway as far as i can recall you should look in Network connections window and try to refresh the DHCP lease for your adapter, and hopefully after that you should then be able to access http://192.168.1.1