Print Thread
#85570 06/06/04 03:12 AM
F
fphs Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
F
I've been using irc for about 2 months now and am getting used to how things work. However, earlier tonight I started having MAJOR problems. I could connect to a network/channel but then would soon lose my net connection. After resetting the connection I would log on to a different network and get the same results after about a minute or so. When I don't connect to irc, the connection is fine, it's only when I connect to irc that i lose my connection. At first I thought it might have been my wireless, as I've seen others having problems with connection through wireless, but I've been connected for almost 2 months now, so that wouldn't fit. I can still surf the web, for example right now, but if I connect to IRC my connection will be lost again.
Anyone know what could be going on?
--setup--
mIRC 6.14
XP Home
Linksys Wireless
Linksys Router
Comcast 3mb Cable

#85571 06/06/04 03:48 AM
T
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
T
Are you getting an error message when you're disconnected? If so please post the message as i'm sure it could help one of us better understand your problem.

#85572 06/06/04 04:01 AM
F
fphs Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
F
no error message to post, sorry. It's the internet conenction that resets and as a result I lose my connection to mIRC. But this only happens after connecting to mIRC. If I don't connect, I can stay online.
It used to work, now it doesn't. I've done a few virus scans as well as worm and trojan scans and no results. Check my open processes and have no extras, checked by on-boot star programs and there weren't any new ones. No changes have been made to my registry, so i'm fairly sure that it's not a worm of some sort giving me a DNS attack...
Anyone?>

#85573 06/06/04 05:08 AM
T
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
T