mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
ZoneAlarm 5 #84065 25/05/04 11:43 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
Q
quack Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
Q
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
I've just upgraded to ZA Security Suite 5, thinking that it would be better than Pro 4.5. How wrong can one person be?

Use 5 and never use mIRC (or any other IRC client) again, until someone finds out how to re-enable IRC access through it.

Every time I try to connect to an IRC server, ZoneAlarm disconnects me and shows the message [ Blocked by Zone Labs Security ] in the status window. I've tried everything I can think of to try to get around this, and nothing. I'm pissed off.

If anyone else upgrades from 4.5 to 5, and has the same problem... and works out how to get around it, I'd love to know what you did.

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 #84066 25/05/04 11:48 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
Whilst I do not use ZA myself, people who have purchased the Pro version are able to seek technical support. If you haven't tried already check out their Service & Support page or indeed post on their Forums.

Is there not some sort of exception list in ZA? Does it help if you disable ZA, connect, and then turn it back on, or does it still disconnect you?

Sorry to hear you're having issues, hope you get them sorted smile

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: ZoneAlarm 5 #84067 25/05/04 05:30 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
Q
quack Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
Q
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
I have actually posted on their forums smile

mIRC is added to the Progam List with full access to Local and Internet zones, with server access also.

I can't even use a java client from a website!

I'll try the start IRC, restart ZA thing later tonight.

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 #84068 26/05/04 10:41 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
Q
quack Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
Q
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
Someone found it for me. I think this is only going to be a problem if you have the full Security Suite instead of Pro.

Go to: IM Security - Settings - Advanced - Uncheck Block IRC.

Simple when you know how eh.

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 #84069 26/05/04 11:16 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
B
BEgrl72 Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
B
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Thanx

That did it for me as well...

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 #84070 27/05/04 02:14 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
P
PastMaster Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
P
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Upgraded to ZoneAlarm Pro 5 this morning and have no problem connecting to IRCnet either directly to server or via a bouncer; running WinME on this machine.

PM


IRCnet & DALnet @#travelersinn
:-: IRC for fun and relaxation :-:
Re: ZoneAlarm 5 #84071 14/06/04 08:43 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1
M
mattipuh Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
M
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1
Quack, BIG Thnx for the IM-options-tip for mirc, I was really getting desperate! ,)

.matti

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 #84072 16/08/04 10:45 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
W
wee_leroy Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
W
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Wow! shocked Seems so easy when you know how!
I've spent the last 2hrs trying to get mIRC to work because of installing ZoneAlarm. Thought there was no hope! Then I found this!
Thanks so much grin

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 #84073 17/08/04 09:36 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
H
harpreet Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
H
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Thanks for the info buddy .. that was very helpful .. even I had the same problem .. but now its all working fine .. thanks again ..

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 #84074 24/08/04 08:16 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
A
Andy766702 Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
A
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Brilliant. I can now access Mirc again. I would never have though of looking in the IM Settings area.

You have saved me hours of stress, thankyou

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 #84075 02/12/04 06:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
D
DGL Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
D
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Quote:


Go to: IM Security - Settings - Advanced - Uncheck Block IRC.



smile

quack,
thank you and whom ever showed you this. I knew it had to be a ZA issue not Mirc. I had ZA 5. Pro without any problems then upgraded to the security suite. frustrating :tongue:

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 [Re: quack] #169221 20/01/07 02:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
C
Carolyn34 Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
C
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
I didn't think this would work since I turned off the IM Security and mIRC still wouldn't connect to Dalnet...

I was wrong, I went into advanced, unchecked "block irc" and now I can connect just fine.

kinda lame that it blocked irc even though the im security was turned off, don't ya think?

... anyway, I owe you my gratitude for this information, works like a charm! grin grin grin

-=-=-=-=-=-
Carolyn34
-=-=-=-=-=-

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 [Re: Carolyn34] #169230 20/01/07 06:14 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
G
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
G
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
mIRC isn't an IM program, hence it not being unblocked when IM security was disabled. IM programs are ones like AIM, Y!M, MSN, etc.

-genius_at_work

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 [Re: quack] #169519 24/01/07 03:12 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
M
mrblack Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
M
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Hi there,

I have ZoneAlarm PRO (Trial Version) and I can not use mIRC.

I get this error message:
Unable to connect to server (Software caused connection abort)

mIRC has been added truted programs, but I still keep getting this error and Im unable to use mIRC.

I can not find IM Security - Settings - Advanced - Uncheck Block IRC.

Where is this IM Security situated?

Kind regards,
Mr black

Last edited by mrblack; 24/01/07 03:12 PM.
Re: ZoneAlarm 5 [Re: mrblack] #171713 28/02/07 12:52 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
T
ThomasGoodbody Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
T
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Originally Posted By: mrblack
Hi there,

I have ZoneAlarm PRO (Trial Version) and I can not use mIRC.

I get this error message:
Unable to connect to server (Software caused connection abort)

mIRC has been added truted programs, but I still keep getting this error and Im unable to use mIRC.

I can not find IM Security - Settings - Advanced - Uncheck Block IRC.

Where is this IM Security situated?

Kind regards,
Mr black


Having the same problem as Mr Black here, I can't find the IM security tab or section. I have ZoneAlarm version:7.0.302.000. Can anyone help or do I need a new version of zone alarm?

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 [Re: ThomasGoodbody] #171746 28/02/07 02:18 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
From what I have heard (I won't use the program), the Trial version does not have the option, but it's not supposed to block it either. Try disabling ZoneAlarm and see if you have problems or not. If you still do, then it's something else that is causing the problem. If you don't, then it's ZoneAlarm and you're probably better off getting a better firewall than that one.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: ZoneAlarm 5 [Re: mrblack] #171754 28/02/07 02:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
C
Constantine Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
C
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
Hi, not having used zonealarm for 2 years or so due to switching to Linux I am a little rusty on it, but on looking at the website I see trial versions only last 15 days. So I cant see why folks want to use something that lasts for 15 days. If it is because you want to see how good it is and want to use mirc then contact zonelabs and ask them. OR pay the 40 bux and register/upgrade to the full version.As I do know that version does have the block/unblock irc option.
Just my few cents

Good luck


Happy mIRC user on Linux