mIRC Homepage

ZoneAlarm 5

Posted By: quack

ZoneAlarm 5 - 25/05/04 11:43 AM

I've just upgraded to ZA Security Suite 5, thinking that it would be better than Pro 4.5. How wrong can one person be?

Use 5 and never use mIRC (or any other IRC client) again, until someone finds out how to re-enable IRC access through it.

Every time I try to connect to an IRC server, ZoneAlarm disconnects me and shows the message [ Blocked by Zone Labs Security ] in the status window. I've tried everything I can think of to try to get around this, and nothing. I'm pissed off.

If anyone else upgrades from 4.5 to 5, and has the same problem... and works out how to get around it, I'd love to know what you did.
Posted By: Mentality

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 25/05/04 11:48 AM

Whilst I do not use ZA myself, people who have purchased the Pro version are able to seek technical support. If you haven't tried already check out their Service & Support page or indeed post on their Forums.

Is there not some sort of exception list in ZA? Does it help if you disable ZA, connect, and then turn it back on, or does it still disconnect you?

Sorry to hear you're having issues, hope you get them sorted smile

Regards,
Posted By: quack

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 25/05/04 05:30 PM

I have actually posted on their forums smile

mIRC is added to the Progam List with full access to Local and Internet zones, with server access also.

I can't even use a java client from a website!

I'll try the start IRC, restart ZA thing later tonight.
Posted By: quack

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 26/05/04 10:41 AM

Someone found it for me. I think this is only going to be a problem if you have the full Security Suite instead of Pro.

Go to: IM Security - Settings - Advanced - Uncheck Block IRC.

Simple when you know how eh.
Posted By: BEgrl72

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 26/05/04 11:16 AM

Thanx

That did it for me as well...
Posted By: PastMaster

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 27/05/04 02:14 PM

Upgraded to ZoneAlarm Pro 5 this morning and have no problem connecting to IRCnet either directly to server or via a bouncer; running WinME on this machine.

PM
Posted By: mattipuh

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 14/06/04 08:43 AM

Quack, BIG Thnx for the IM-options-tip for mirc, I was really getting desperate! ,)

.matti
Posted By: wee_leroy

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 16/08/04 10:45 PM

Wow! shocked Seems so easy when you know how!
I've spent the last 2hrs trying to get mIRC to work because of installing ZoneAlarm. Thought there was no hope! Then I found this!
Thanks so much grin
Posted By: harpreet

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 17/08/04 09:36 PM

Thanks for the info buddy .. that was very helpful .. even I had the same problem .. but now its all working fine .. thanks again ..
Posted By: Andy766702

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 24/08/04 08:16 PM

Brilliant. I can now access Mirc again. I would never have though of looking in the IM Settings area.

You have saved me hours of stress, thankyou
Posted By: DGL

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 02/12/04 06:39 PM

Quote:


Go to: IM Security - Settings - Advanced - Uncheck Block IRC.



smile

quack,
thank you and whom ever showed you this. I knew it had to be a ZA issue not Mirc. I had ZA 5. Pro without any problems then upgraded to the security suite. frustrating :tongue:
Posted By: Carolyn34

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 20/01/07 02:50 PM

I didn't think this would work since I turned off the IM Security and mIRC still wouldn't connect to Dalnet...

I was wrong, I went into advanced, unchecked "block irc" and now I can connect just fine.

kinda lame that it blocked irc even though the im security was turned off, don't ya think?

... anyway, I owe you my gratitude for this information, works like a charm! grin grin grin

-=-=-=-=-=-
Carolyn34
-=-=-=-=-=-
Posted By: genius_at_work

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 20/01/07 06:14 PM

mIRC isn't an IM program, hence it not being unblocked when IM security was disabled. IM programs are ones like AIM, Y!M, MSN, etc.

-genius_at_work
Posted By: mrblack

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 24/01/07 03:12 PM

Hi there,

I have ZoneAlarm PRO (Trial Version) and I can not use mIRC.

I get this error message:
Unable to connect to server (Software caused connection abort)

mIRC has been added truted programs, but I still keep getting this error and Im unable to use mIRC.

I can not find IM Security - Settings - Advanced - Uncheck Block IRC.

Where is this IM Security situated?

Kind regards,
Mr black
Posted By: ThomasGoodbody

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 28/02/07 12:52 AM

Originally Posted By: mrblack
Hi there,

I have ZoneAlarm PRO (Trial Version) and I can not use mIRC.

I get this error message:
Unable to connect to server (Software caused connection abort)

mIRC has been added truted programs, but I still keep getting this error and Im unable to use mIRC.

I can not find IM Security - Settings - Advanced - Uncheck Block IRC.

Where is this IM Security situated?

Kind regards,
Mr black


Having the same problem as Mr Black here, I can't find the IM security tab or section. I have ZoneAlarm version:7.0.302.000. Can anyone help or do I need a new version of zone alarm?
Posted By: Riamus2

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 28/02/07 02:18 PM

From what I have heard (I won't use the program), the Trial version does not have the option, but it's not supposed to block it either. Try disabling ZoneAlarm and see if you have problems or not. If you still do, then it's something else that is causing the problem. If you don't, then it's ZoneAlarm and you're probably better off getting a better firewall than that one.
Posted By: Constantine

Re: ZoneAlarm 5 - 28/02/07 02:58 PM

Hi, not having used zonealarm for 2 years or so due to switching to Linux I am a little rusty on it, but on looking at the website I see trial versions only last 15 days. So I cant see why folks want to use something that lasts for 15 days. If it is because you want to see how good it is and want to use mirc then contact zonelabs and ask them. OR pay the 40 bux and register/upgrade to the full version.As I do know that version does have the block/unblock irc option.
Just my few cents

Good luck
© 2021 mIRC Discussion Forums