mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
R
R34N1M4T3D
R34N1M4T3D
R
Once again I'm in need of help. I hate being a newbie and not knowing my stuff, anyways LoL. I was wondering if anyone knew how to make an acronym turn into a full word: ex: LoL = Laughing Out Loud. When I type LoL, it changes into Laughing Out Loud. Thanks, I'll really appreciate it. confused grin

B
bloupx
bloupx
B
on *:INPUT:#:{
if /* iswm $1 return
else haltdef
var %e = 1,%f
while (%e <= $0) {
var %r = 1
if ($gettok($1-,%e,32) == lol) { var %r | %f = %f laughing oud loud }
if ($gettok($1-,%e,32) == fu) { var %r | %f = %f f00k j00 }
if (%r) %f = %f $gettok($1-,%e,32)
inc %e
}
msg # %f
}

G
Gamersad
Gamersad
G
isn't that a tad complex?

R
R34N1M4T3D
R34N1M4T3D
R
Everytime I try to type something I keep getting the "/while: '&lt;=' unknown operator (line 5, Input.mrc)" error. What can I do to prevent this?

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,973
K
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
K
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,973
Sounds like it's due to you copy and pasting from a webpage. (&lt;= is the HTML version of doing <=). I also do agree with another poster, in the replacer being a tad complex. Might I suggest soemthing like this...

acronym.mrc
(Right click and do "Save Target..." or "Save File..." depending on browser)

Just read the file in notepad first before loading it. You add the acronyms you wish to have before you load it, then load it as usual.

EDIT: Fixed link-- Sorry.

Last edited by KingTomato; 29/02/04 12:43 AM.
R
R34N1M4T3D
R34N1M4T3D
R
I Changed That Thing You Said About HTML Version, Still The Same and I didn't get to see your example sorry. Said page couldn't be found.

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,973
K
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
K
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,973
Sorry about that, try now blush

R
R34N1M4T3D
R34N1M4T3D
R
Thanks, I really appreciate it, I'll try it out later on tonight.

B
bloupx
bloupx
B
yours is basically the same, except you add them to a hashtable and it's just as complex.

R
R34N1M4T3D
R34N1M4T3D
R
Ok, here's a stupid question and I know you're gona think I'm stupid for asking this, but how do you add to the list? LoL. Sorry about that. I guess I'm having a blonde moment.

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,973
K
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
K
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,973
Sorry about that, try these two aliases:

Code:
alias acronym.add {
  if ($hget(acronym)) {
    if ($2) /hadd acronym $1-
    else {
      /echo -s /acronym.add: Insufficient Parameters
      /echo -s /acronym.add &lt;acronym&gt; &lt;meaning&gt;
      /echo -s Example:
      /echo -s /acronym.remove brb Be Right Back
    }
  }
  else /echo -s /acronym.add: Acronym table not loaded
}

alias acronym.remove {
  if ($hget(acronym)) {
    if ($hget(acronym, $1)) /hdel acronym $1
    else if ($1) /echo -s /acronym.remove: Acronym $+(',$1,') does not exist
    else { 
      /echo -s /acronym.remove: Insufficient Parameters
      /echo -s /acronym.remove &lt;Acronym&gt;
      /echo -s Example:
      /echo -s /acronym.remove brb
    }
  }
  else /echo -s /acronym.remove: Acronym table not loaded
}

(Copy the above code to wordpad (Start>>Run>>"Wordpad") first, then reselect and copy to mIRC)

I didn't test them out, but they should work fine. If they don't, then I'll debug em.

Directions
/acronym.add <Acronym> <Meaning>
Example: /acronym.add brb Be Right Back

/acronym.remove <Acronym>
Example: /acronym.remove brb

R
R34N1M4T3D
R34N1M4T3D
R
Thanks. I got it. I just need to play with it. I put /acronym.add bbl Be Back Later and it was "be Back Later" so I got to figure out how to make the first letter capitalized. I'm sorry to be bothering you so much. Oh, How do I take off the echo? Just remove them? for Future references. LoL. Thanks A Lot. grin

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,973
K
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
K
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,973
Quote:

I put /acronym.add bbl Be Back Later and it was "be Back Later" so I got to figure out how to make the first letter capitalized.


I cant reproduce this. You sure you added it in with a capital letter?

bbl
<KingTomato> bbl
/acronym.add bbl Be Back Later
text bbl test
<KingTomato> test [Be Back Later] test

EDIT:
Red is the things i typed, and the regular is what was displayed.

Ohh, and as for the help, np >:D

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 191
N
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
N
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 191
Well looks like you have problems then as you text became another test :tongue:

Quote:

text bbl test
<KingTomato> test [Be Back Later] test


Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,973
K
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
K
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,973
I hand typed it. I didn't copy and paste the input text, just the result.


Link Copied to Clipboard