mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
mIRC make my games choppy? #704 09/12/02 08:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
P
Patriek Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Hi

When mIRC in running and I play UT2003, the game get choppy... so my view is standing still for a faction of a second several times a minute. Which is extremely irritating and prevents me from playing @ my best.

When I close it and play on, there`s nothing what so ever. Everything is super smooth (got a P4 2.4Ghz + 512Mb DDR+Radeon 9700pro)

What should i do?

Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #705 09/12/02 10:56 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 177
K
Karen Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
K
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 177
mIRC by itself, uses very little ram. Consider testing with the mIRC remotes off, see if the game still plays 'choppy'.

Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #706 09/12/02 11:44 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 266
Z
zack Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Z
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 266
Are you sure about the RAM issue? :-)

When I had 32 remote files loaded and was connected to three networks a quick check of Task Manager stated it used around 16mb, not that little ;-)


You won't like it when I get angry.
Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #707 10/12/02 12:01 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
H
Hammer Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
When you're playing any of those online games, it is always best to close down any other Internet applications, such as mIRC, your email client, browser windows, etc...this is because they all occasionally receive information from the Internet that causes the game to slow briefly while the data is dealt with. It's not a mIRC issue, it's merely a connectivity issue with the game you're playing.


DALnet: #HelpDesk and #m[color:#FF0000]IR[color:#EEEE00]C
Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #708 10/12/02 12:39 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 54
S
SergioNL Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 54
never had problems with mIRC and games running at the same time, cpu usage is nicely low, and ram usage about normal (like 5 mb normal and 10mb if the channel buffers are filled up), you might try to unload some remote scripts with lots of timers in it, or disable logging

i have no problems with running UT(1), mirc and a winamp mp3 stream at the same time on a p600 512mb ram with a gf2mx400

if i put winamp off i c alil change in fps goin higher, but with mirc on or off UT(1) runs exactly the same i cant c any diffrence

Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #709 10/12/02 02:56 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 177
K
Karen Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
K
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 177
zack, read my post again... " mIRC by itself , uses very little ram"

Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #710 10/12/02 08:44 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
S
Skip Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 349
are you playing online and receiving a lag indicator, or is this visual slowdown?

try playing with some of the more time-based things in mIRC to see if you can isolate the problem (any /timers or entries in your notify list? Do you have "Monitor file changes" selected in your script editor options?)

hope that helps. smile

Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #711 10/12/02 10:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
P
Patriek Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Thanks for replying but there`s nothing usefull...

I have mIRC running as standard as it gets. No extra scripts plugins or something. What are remote scripts?

I was aware that mIRC isnt using much PC power nor internet bandwidth. Because I always played with mIRC on and never notised something. I have 2 more PC`s here where I played on and it runs all fine.

This PC has the best specs of all my PC`s...
Epox 4G4A (533Mhz FSB)
P4B 2.4Ghz
512Mb of RAM (1x 256Mb PC2100 + 1 x 256Mb PC2700, running @ 266Mhz)
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro, 128Mb

And for the internet i have...

3Com 10/100mbit NIC
A fast aDSL connection (1024/256)

It IS odd that I only had it on this PC so far, problem is, I dont know where the problem is.

Oh.. it is not timebased and logging is disabled in mIRC

Last edited by Patriek; 10/12/02 10:56 PM.
Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #712 11/12/02 04:59 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
P
Patriek Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
I HAVE FOUND IT!!!

I use Windows XP (prof.) which works with proces-priorities. That way important programs can have a higher priority for the resources... the computer power.

Now I`ve set mIRC.exe to the lowest priority, everything works fine! laugh. Why I have this only @ this PC and not @ the others I have remaines a mystery though.

If you want to do the same. Press CTRL + ALT + DEL in WindowsXP. click on the 2nd pages "processes" (or something, I personally have a sutch windows), right click on mIRC.exe and set the priority to low.

Hmm... one thing keeps being irritating... windows doesnt save the priority. So everytime you start mIRC you have to do those actions to set the priority from the default (normal priority) to low. frown
mIRC makers, can you help here??

Last edited by Patriek; 11/12/02 05:01 PM.
Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #713 11/12/02 06:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 27
B
BeeBeeGun Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
B
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 27
start menu,run, cmd
type start /?
you'll see info on how to give the process priority when using start then edit your mirc shortcut


Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #714 13/12/02 03:33 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
P
Patriek Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
I dont get it...
my shortcut is to
"C:\Program Files\mIRC\mirc.exe"

now what?

"C:\Program Files\mIRC\mirc.exe"/low doenst work

Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #715 13/12/02 06:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
P
Patriek Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Now I`ve tried with mIRC 5.91 and there`s no problem @ all
Will try the other mIRC 6.xx versions too now.

*update*
Till version 6.02 theres no prob @ all. So mIRC 6.02 & 6.03 are BAD

I dunno why, because I tested with clean installs, as standard as they come. Only connected to quakenet + my perform and then played UT2003 singleplayer. Hope you guys will figure it out. If you need me, I`m @ #un1ty @ quakenet.

/me is using mIRC 6.01 now grin

Last edited by Patriek; 13/12/02 07:05 PM.
Re: mIRC make my games choppy? #716 13/12/02 07:12 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
I run 6.03 and UT2003 and it runs fine.

Make a shortcut to:
Code:
%windir%\System32\cmd.exe /c start /low c:\progra~1\mirc\mirc.exe

and see if that works any better. (will not work on some Windows OSs)