mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
DIalogs.. #63395 09/12/03 12:09 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 111
F
Frog Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
F
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 111
Quick questoin..

I've always wondered..what's the difference between pixels, dbu, and "notheme"?


Experience The Void.. Are You Ready?
Re: DIalogs.. #63396 09/12/03 12:11 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
B
bunar Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
help file:

Dbu vs. Pixels
The dbu option makes mIRC use dialog base units when creating the dialog, this ensures that the dialog will look the same for all users under any size display, etc. Pixels is the default however to maintain compatibility with previous scripts.


Re: DIalogs.. #63397 09/12/03 12:14 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 111
F
Frog Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
F
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 111
That doesn't really help too much, so I'll ask this:

If I make a dialog and want it to look the same for whoever uses it, which do I use: pixels, dbu, or "notheme"?


Experience The Void.. Are You Ready?
Re: DIalogs.. #63398 09/12/03 12:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
Try reading it slower:

The dbu option makes mIRC use dialog base units when creating the dialog, this ensures that the dialog will look the same for all users under any size display


-KingTomato
Re: DIalogs.. #63399 09/12/03 12:25 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 111
F
Frog Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
F
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 111
I didn't ask for some [censored] reply like that.

I only asked because I've made dialogs with dbu before and had people complain about the size.

So next time, give me a simple answer instead of being an ass.


Experience The Void.. Are You Ready?
Re: DIalogs.. #63400 09/12/03 12:25 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
MTec89 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 742
so whats notheme?


http://MTec89Net.com
irc.freenode.net #MTec89Net
Re: DIalogs.. #63401 09/12/03 12:28 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
B
bunar Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
dbu option should make for any mirc version ALL dialogs the same size, so dunno why they complaited, i always make dialogs wiv dbu and they are always ok...

Re: DIalogs.. #63402 09/12/03 12:28 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 111
F
Frog Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
F
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 111
I guess since pixels is the default (even if not specified; if I read that correctly) notheme would be to not even use that..I dunno, which is why I made this post to begin with.


Experience The Void.. Are You Ready?
Re: DIalogs.. #63403 09/12/03 12:29 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 111
F
Frog Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
F
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 111
That's the kinda answer I was looking for, thanks.


Experience The Void.. Are You Ready?
Re: DIalogs.. #63404 09/12/03 12:31 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
B
bunar Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
i think that notheme/theme has no function (yet) coz i was unable to find anything bout it...

Re: DIalogs.. #63405 09/12/03 12:37 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
AdmWiggin Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
about DBU, i make scripts on my 98 comp, and use dbu, and then look at them on my XP comp, and they are different.... anything seem wrong? lol


--------------------
I may be insane, but I enjoy it!
Re: DIalogs.. #63406 09/12/03 12:39 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
B
bunar Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 584
not mirc issue, win xp issue it is.

same crap with colors, if you paint some color in win 9x and transfer it to xp it will be different....

Re: DIalogs.. #63407 09/12/03 10:09 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 228
S
Seifer Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 228
'notheme' means that the dialog won't be affected by any XP themes. It will always appear in the default (Win classic) look.

Re: DIalogs.. #63408 09/12/03 01:19 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Contrary to what you've been told here, DBU's will not make your dialog look the same size on all systems and resolutions. For a proper explanation of what DBU's are for read this (link originally from qwerty). In short, you should use DBU's bacause it does make things look more consistent, just don't think that using it is going to make your dialogs look exactly the same for everyone.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.