mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
"scripts" nick opens window #54627 14/10/03 01:53 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
M
MetallicAchu Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
When a nick "scripts" msgs you, or when use /q scripts, a new window is opend (not inside mIRC, but in the operations system itself).
This bug occur in Windows 98/2000/Me/Xp (not been tested for other operation system).

Hope you'll fix it soon.

Best of luck,
Shachar

Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54628 14/10/03 01:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
R
r0ck0 Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
R
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
Reproduced here using v6.12 on WinXP Pro

Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54629 14/10/03 03:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
Same here, might have been a debgging method khaled was using >:D


-KingTomato
Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54630 14/10/03 03:09 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
Doomstars Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
Needs to be fixed. Cause someone could trick someone else of doing the below. If that wasn't appropiate of posting, remove the below.

/.timer 100000 0 //query scripts $+ $replace($eval($ticks,1),1,1,2,2,3,3,4,4,5,5,6,6,7,7,8,8,9,9,0,0)

Last edited by Doomstars; 14/10/03 03:10 PM.
Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54631 14/10/03 03:13 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
Either way u look at it, u need the user's concent


-KingTomato
Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54632 14/10/03 03:19 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
Doomstars Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
Well, set it to an infinite times for the timer, it would be hard to close mIRC unless you wish to close it via control-alt-delete.

Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54633 14/10/03 03:20 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
You still need the _users_ concent-- They have to type it for it to be exploited.


-KingTomato
Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54634 14/10/03 03:22 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
R
r0ck0 Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
R
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
Meaning the user still has to be stupid enough to execute it.

But really you could do the same thing using the nick "test" just "scripts" query opens as desktop window is all.

/close -m scripts*
/close -m test*
will close them all either way

Last edited by r0ck0; 14/10/03 03:23 PM.
Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54635 14/10/03 03:32 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
Doomstars Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
No. The desktop windows keep coming and coming and won't stop. It's harder to get rid of them.

Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54636 14/10/03 03:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 62
lonesome Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 62
hmmm. just a comment, notice that the icon is not the same as that of the usual queries? :tongue:

Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54637 14/10/03 03:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
R
RiffRaff Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Reproduced using mIRC 5.91 and 6.03.


Who will trade his karma for my kingdom?
Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54638 14/10/03 04:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
YOu're not comprehending what I'm syaing... If the user doesn't type the timer, there is no problem. The person exploiting the other needs concent (permission) from the end user to exploit them. If they say "hey run this code" and the user says "no" -- no exploit. Now after saying no, how is it going to "keep open windows"?


-KingTomato
Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54639 14/10/03 04:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
R
RiffRaff Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
R
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Well, some people are ingenuous. Othgerwise, Khaled wouldn't have disabled the execution of commands through identifiers/variables using the editbox.


Who will trade his karma for my kingdom?
Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54640 14/10/03 05:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43
C
Cypris Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43
The Objective of this place is to not cause chaos with lamer code, but to help the creator of this program in finding errors, so he can fix them. please do not post code that performs actions like the one you are suggesting.


-Cypris
Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54641 14/10/03 06:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
Doomstars Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
Exactly. It's pretty easy to trick people. But at least it will be fixed in the next version I'm sure.

Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54642 15/10/03 03:42 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 17
D
dohcan Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
D
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 17
It's pretty easy to see why this is happening. It's looking under [windows] in mirc.ini and seeing "scripts" and using that as the settings.

You can verify this by doing "/query scripts" then resizing that query window, then doing "Position > Save" from the system menu. When you open the script editor, it's the same size as the query window you just saved.

Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54643 15/10/03 06:11 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
Doomstars Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
Doing a "/query main" also messes up mIRC, in a different way though.

Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54644 15/10/03 06:17 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43
C
Cypris Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 43
ok, the scripts bug can be fixed by changing the last 3 0's in the value of scripts=
from 0,0,0 to 0,1,0
but the instant u open your scripts editor, reguardless of your "Show on Desktop", being on or not, it still changes it back to 0,0,0


How does /q main mess up mirc?


-Cypris
Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54645 15/10/03 07:04 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 17
D
dohcan Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
D
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 17
Yea, any of the names used by other parts of mIRC (eg, main, wnotify, etc) will cause it to use the wrong window settings.

Re: "scripts" nick opens window #54646 15/10/03 09:57 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 215
lammkott Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 215
You don't actually need the users concent, I just connected to a server twice, one connection using the nickname 'scripts', messaged my other nickname and it opened the same desktop window when I clicked on the query.
Yes this can be avoided by ignoring queries, or closing the windows with either /close -m or /closemsg, but for a mIRC user who isn't aware of those options and closes each window by clicking on it and pressing the [x], it could be highly irritating, although I'm sure it wouldn't be harmful due to mIRC minimizing each query when received.


- Jason
Page 1 of 2 1 2