mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#51722 28/09/03 08:25 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 196
T
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 196
I noticed that /run merges two words together if there is a space in the first character. Tested on both mIRC 6.1.

Eg:

/run a bc

will return:

abc

/run a b c

will return:
ab c

However,

/run aa b

will work correctly and return aa b.

The problem can be solved by using "a b c" for example, however,

if you want to run your web browser that is only one character long (lets call it x, anyway its impossible right now, just an example), you cannot work it by using

/run "a http://url"

you have to do it by /run a "http://url"

That's where the problem happens.

It will become a"http://url"

Anyone else experiencing this?


trenzterra
AustNet #trenzterra and #w
Head Scripter @ http://trenzterra.uni.cc
#51723 28/09/03 03:31 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
mine just needs "'s for spaces.
otherwise its fine.


new username: tidy_trax
#51724 28/09/03 09:51 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
/!run a bc
-
* /run: unable to open 'abc'
-
/!run a b c
-
* /run: unable to open 'ab c'
-

Yup, here too. Tested on 5.91, 6.03 and 6.1, btw. Could this be Windows' fault?


* cold edits his posts 24/7
#51725 28/09/03 09:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
R
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
R
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 242
This works fine ...
Code:
/!run "C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\iexplore.exe" "http://www.yahoo.com"


So does this ...
Code:
/!run "c:\program files\internet explorer\iexplore.exe" "http://www.yahoo.com"

Last edited by r0ck0; 28/09/03 10:01 PM.
#51726 29/09/03 12:15 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
With quotes, it works. But I don't get why does it try to run "abc" if I wanted it to run "a bc".


* cold edits his posts 24/7
#51727 01/10/03 07:38 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
I
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
Yeah thats weird merging the a bc like that. Works fine if you use the .ext "/run m.exe <stuff>"

#51728 01/10/03 01:10 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 384
D
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 384
The only reasons I can come up with here are thus:

Quote:

/run a bc

will return:

abc

Could this be mIRC joining the path and then the file at the end of the path? Some sort of compensation for an accidental space between path and file.

Quote:

/run a b c

will return:
ab c

In this instance, mIRC could be joining path and filename (a and b) and leaving a space for commandline switches (c) for operating that file.

Quote:

However,

/run aa b

will work correctly and return aa b.

I can't explain this one tho frown

#51729 02/10/03 04:09 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 10
Z
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
Z
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 10
Maybe I read through this thread too quickly, but since you all seem to have tried a few combinations, I figured I'd mention one I didn't see already mentioned.

Code:
/run "a" bc


The line above works for me. If you had an "a.bat" batch file as shown below...

Code:
"c:\program files\internet explorer\iexplore.exe" %1


...then ran the following line in mIRC...

Code:
/run "a" google.com


... google should pop up in Internet Explorer fine. Sorry if I'm repeating what someone else already said.

#51730 03/10/03 06:39 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
Yup, as I said above, it works with quotes.


* cold edits his posts 24/7

Link Copied to Clipboard