mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#5169 06/01/03 01:11 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
D
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
All right here's the problem, I can't send files to people using DCC send. I'm using mIRC version 6.03, i'm on Windows XP professional, i have cable and i'm behind an SMC switch. I can send the accept option to people and they can then ok the send but it always says connection failed. i can also initiate DCC chat sessions. I've tried everything i can think of, any ideas?

#5170 06/01/03 12:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
Do you mean you CAN or you CAN'T initiate dcc chats successfully?

Your problem could be in several areas, check this thread


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
#5171 06/01/03 10:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
D
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
Can not initiate dcc chats, sorry for the typo. and i went through the thread actually and did all the stuff for cable users, however under "3. In Windows control panel>internet options>connection, change both modem and LAN settings to "automatically detect"" there wasn't a modems available part, not sure if that matters. Also i currently have not used the XP option of setting up a firewall, so there is none turned on, should i turn one on using the instructions on the thread or would that not make any difference...

Last edited by darkcheerio; 06/01/03 11:01 PM.
#5172 07/01/03 11:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
np on the typo, i just wanted to be sure smile

The cable "tip" was before XP was released, so where/if the same option is in XP, i'm afraid i dont personally know. As for the XP firewall not being turned on and whether it would effect you or not, i would check elsewhere first.

"behind an SMC switch".... do you mean you are using an SMC router? Have you done the forwarding ports and put those in mIRC's options as in the post i referred you to? There was a recent thread from a user having probs with SMC, one thing i suggested was to try something other than server port 6667... when he tried 6668, it worked fine (to see that thread put SMC in the search feature, connection issues, i think it wasnt much more than a week ago)


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
#5173 08/01/03 07:36 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
D
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
Nope it's a switch. Alright this may or may not help but i'm going to explain how the network is set up. Alright we have our main cable modem, and there's a cat5 cable running from that into a nic card in the xp server, from the server we have another cat5 running to the switch to connect the server to the net, all other computers also have a cat5 running to the switch. So i'm not sure if everything's getting confused there or whats going on. Anyway, i looked at the post you mentioned and tried switching the port to 6668 ( I changed the one in Options>connect>options, if thats the wrong one please tell me) and it didn't fix the problem. As for port forwarding i don't know if you can do it on a switch, and if you can i have no idea how to do it.

#5174 12/01/03 01:07 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
D
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
also something i just realized, is that when i join a server like aniverse it says "no ident response." i'm not sure if this is the problem, but if it is how do i fix it?

#5175 12/01/03 02:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
re connection port: when you connect, look at the top of your status window, it will tell you what port you actually connected to.

re identd: altho this post refers to DALnet specifically, the info should still help you click here Altho, that shouldnt effect dcc

This person also had a prob on aniverse with SMC, mite want to read this thread

honestly, im not jam up about networks, so perhaps someone else will read the description of your set up and have some thoughts about it.


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet

Link Copied to Clipboard