mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#48647 11/09/03 08:49 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
$ip returns the wrong IP Its close but no cigar,
when I use $ip I get 12.3.456.78
but when I dns myself and check via winipcfg.exe
Id get something like 12.3.173.112
the first 2 ranges are right but the others are not.

Edit: More info, the bug is in 6.1, I tested it out in 6.03 and it works perfectly fine.

Last edited by MrPeepers; 11/09/03 08:51 AM.

In Virginia, chickens cannot lay eggs before 8:00 a.m., and must be done before 4:00 p.m.
#48648 11/09/03 08:55 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
no issue here, all 3 match up in 6.1. What OS are you using? maybe this is an OS specific/related issue?


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
#48649 11/09/03 09:01 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
98 SE
I tried a fresh install of 6.1 turned all remotes off and Its the same. So its not a script interfering. Weird


In Virginia, chickens cannot lay eggs before 8:00 a.m., and must be done before 4:00 p.m.
#48650 11/09/03 09:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
95/6.1/scripted (on) and no issue


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
#48651 11/09/03 09:08 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 150
J
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
J
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 150
r u behind firewall?


Go ahead, jump. 100,000 lemmings can't be wrong.
#48652 11/09/03 09:09 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
I am, I have tried with the firewall off and on, same result.


In Virginia, chickens cannot lay eggs before 8:00 a.m., and must be done before 4:00 p.m.
#48653 11/09/03 09:09 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
on top of that, psybnc or router? *guessing*


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
#48654 11/09/03 09:12 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
Neither straight dialup, no proxy or bouncer or router or whatever else is out there.


In Virginia, chickens cannot lay eggs before 8:00 a.m., and must be done before 4:00 p.m.
#48655 11/09/03 10:17 AM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,271
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,271
Not a problem here either.


DALnet #Helpdesk
I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -Confucius
#48656 11/09/03 10:31 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 196
T
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 196
I get that problem too, but only when I view my $ip when not connected to a server...

My ip 210.24.121.162

When I'm not connected to IRC in 6.1, I get 210.24.120.231

in 6.03, I cannot type //echo -a $ip when not connected.

Using XP Home


trenzterra
AustNet #trenzterra and #w
Head Scripter @ http://trenzterra.uni.cc
#48657 11/09/03 11:37 AM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,271
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,271
I still get the right IP when disconnected


DALnet #Helpdesk
I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -Confucius
#48658 11/09/03 12:16 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 132
O
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
O
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 132
sometimes it depends on network you connect on, b4 when i was on webnet i got that problem, my ip was resolved like 24.xxx.xxx.xxx cant remember now, but on other networks it was normally, so itz not likely that your OS has anything with that

#48659 11/09/03 12:16 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,812
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,812
Have you tried typing /localinfo -u

you should only have to use the command once.


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
#48660 11/09/03 11:50 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
works fine here on 98SE, looks like for whatever reason you're ip mismatched, do what Raccoon suggested to test


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
#48661 12/09/03 07:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,443
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,443
That's quite possible. You should be able to change your local info settings to make mIRC retrieve the externally-seen IP address from the IRC server in this case.

#48662 17/09/03 05:41 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
I must jsut be cracked, still showing the same ip, after disconnect restart and reconnect. Im going to try another reinstall


In Virginia, chickens cannot lay eggs before 8:00 a.m., and must be done before 4:00 p.m.

Link Copied to Clipboard