mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Clear History #46543 02/09/03 02:56 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
S
saxon Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
When you right click the Connect/Disconnect icon in toolbar, It doesn't show a list of recently connected to Networks/Servers.

I used to be able to right click that and easily choose my network. Now you have to edit the servers.ini to put networks you actually use there. The menu is meant for conveniance and that is inconveniant. Also, you update this site with new servers.ini files sometimes, which means if i download them i have to edit the file all over again. This didn't seem to be the case in 6.03.

---

But anyway... You might say "Tough luck", but you will notice that there is a "Clear History" button on that menu, The presence of that button suggests that the menu IS intended to maintain a list of recent servers/networks. However clicking that button does nothing. So there is a bug in that menu somewhere?

Re: Clear History #46544 02/09/03 04:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,954
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,954
Yes, it should show a list of servers. It works for me, so perhaps there's something in your configuration that is causing the problem.

If you perform a clean install into an empty folder and test it, does it work?

Re: Clear History #46545 02/09/03 04:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
S
saxon Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
Ok i still had the setup file on my desktop, So i did a clean install of mIRC, to a folder on my desktop. In my previous install of mIRC, i made sure my old mirc.ini was over written, and that everything was default, so I could see the new feautres clearly. But the folder was not empty.

Ok, so empty folder on my desktop this time, Right clicking the toolbar icon lists the Networks from "4-irc Random server" to "Accessirc", Just like before. So i type "/server efnet.demon.co.uk", and successfuly connect to EFnet. I check the toolbar menu, The menu is still the same as before, No EFent network or Server is listed. I disconnect from EFnet, check the menu again, Still the same. I close mIRC, reopen mIRC, the menu is still the same as when I first installed. And clicking of "Clear History" has no effect.

I am using mIRC 6.1, Window XP Pro - with all the latest security patches, service packs, and updates installed.

--Edit--

I just tried another test, where I selected EFnet from the connect dialog, instead of typing /server. Just incase the menu is intentionaly not updated for /server type connecting. The result is still the same as above.

Last edited by saxon; 02/09/03 04:29 PM.
Re: Clear History #46546 02/09/03 04:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
I have the same problem. Even though I have connected to QuakeNet several times since mIRC 6.1 was released it just isn't there.

Re: Clear History #46547 02/09/03 05:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
qwerty Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Same here.


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
Re: Clear History #46548 02/09/03 08:36 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
D
dylan Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 24
yeah, it doesn't work for me either. it seems to just show a list of servers straight from servers.ini.


-- dylan
Re: Clear History #46549 03/09/03 03:35 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
S
saxon Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
Okay, I managed to get the feature working. You have to have "Move to top of list on connect" checked in the connection options. And before some of you get excited and start saying "Ha ha moron! ofcourse the feature wont work without that..". Checking that box does not make the feature work alone. What you have to do is go to the connect dialog and select your server, Press the Sun icon a few times, Connect. If the feature doesn't appear to work yet, keep repeating the process, eventually it will. Also try clicking from "Connect" and "Servers" a few times in the treeview.

I installed mIRC clean over about 5 times trying to reproduce clear steps to make it work, but was unable too, So sorry.. you have to play around with those instructions.. it will spontaneously start working for you eventually..

When you get it to work once, it seems to keep working after that...

Re: Clear History #46550 12/09/03 03:56 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
C
cold Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 810
Well then that seems to be a bug.. it's the same behaviour here.


* cold edits his posts 24/7