mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
switchbar #45723 31/08/03 04:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 212
V
vasil_michev Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
V
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 212
The new way to move the switchbar basicly SUX
or is it more convinient to play around 10 seconds to point do the stupid line instead clicking anywhere on it and just dragging it like it was in .03 and before?
I guess you've added this so even filled switchbars can be moved around, but why did you removed the old style?


And all I need now is intellectual intercourse, a soul to dig the hole much deeper
Re: switchbar #45724 31/08/03 06:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Leaving the old function in place would make implementing the new way pointless so getting rid of some obsolete code would probably improve reliability and stability. Why duplicate things? I actually like the new method so I am all for it. With this done it may be that support for arrow buttons, optional scrollbar, etc will come alot faster.

Re: switchbar #45725 31/08/03 06:55 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
S
saxon Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
Well this bothererd me for the first 10 minutes but I don't really care about it now. The new way is fine.

And while were at it, I think the grips look nice. Although it would be good if the toolbar grip actually did something - like collapse the toolbar. Or if it continues to do nothing it should be removed imo..

Re: switchbar #45726 31/08/03 07:04 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
I'm not against the grip thing on the switchbar, but why does it have to be so ugly? mIRC looks like something for Win 3.1. Regardless of whether you like the WinXP theme stuff (and I know many people hate it), mIRC should be able to support it. The grip in 6.1 looks stupid in an XP style GUI. I still say the mIRC toolbar should be ditched and Khaled should just use the windows builtin toolbar control. That would even further do what you said. There would be less code in mIRC, therefore more stability. Windows would handle all the stuff concerning the toolbar rather than having mIRC have to handle all the code. Plus, it means the toolbar actually looks like the toolbar in 99% of the other programs available.

Re: switchbar #45727 31/08/03 08:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
I would say that he just checked out the way grips look in MS Office and emulated that, as they look very similar. I'm guessing but maybe this is a building block for more XPish theming down the track.

Re: switchbar #45728 31/08/03 10:32 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
im hoping your correct ..... and id like to see that toolbar able to move as well ... its already got its "grips" but doesnt work. there are several small issues i can see that i personally dont like in the new mirc ... maybe given time id get accustomed to them.


D3m0nnet.com
Re: switchbar #45729 31/08/03 10:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Well while your busy trying to get accustomed to it, I'm gonna be busy trying to create some dlls to revert some of these changes smile

Re: switchbar #45730 31/08/03 11:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 25
V
v0id Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
V
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 25
Quote:

The new way to move the switchbar basicly SUX
or is it more convinient to play around 10 seconds to point do the stupid line instead clicking anywhere on it and just dragging it like it was in .03 and before?


If it is taking you anywhere near ten seconds to get ahold of the grip, I would suggest that you get a new mouse. You might want to go with an optical mouse, if you don't have one already.

As for me, it has taken me less than a second each time, without even focusing on getting ahold of the grip.

Quote:

I guess you've added this so even filled switchbars can be moved around, but why did you removed the old style?


The grip might also help to make it obvious, to new users, that the switch bar can be moved at all.

Regardless, do people really move the switch bar multiple times throughout the day?

Perhaps there are those who do not like the grips because it is a constant reminder to them of what they were hoping the grips would allow them to do.

Re: switchbar #45731 31/08/03 11:38 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 130
O
obsessed Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
O
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 130
Heres to hoping in the next version there an options to get rid of the grip and use the old method.


If only women came with popup menus and online help.
Re: switchbar #45732 31/08/03 11:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Quote:
The grip might also help to make it obvious, to new users, that the switch bar can be moved at all.

Well if thats the case it will more than likely confuse the user seeing as how it does NOT let you move the toolbar even though it has a grip as well.

Re: switchbar #45733 01/09/03 12:08 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 25
V
v0id Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
V
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 25
Quote:

Well if thats the case it will more than likely confuse the user seeing as how it does NOT let you move the toolbar even though it has a grip as well.


A rather large cross, with arrow-tipped ends, appears when you place your cursor over the switch-bar's grip. Perhaps I should have been more specific.

Re: switchbar #45734 01/09/03 01:10 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 426
neophyte Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 426
Here's to hoping that the next version includes an additional subset of the dialog windows to create toolbars (dockable), that can be manhandled like dialogs, as well as other things (such as channel switching events etc).


--------
mIRC - fun for all the family (except grandma and grandpa)
Re: switchbar #45735 01/09/03 01:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
lol i wish i could write dlls ... if u get some and u wouldnt mind sharing please let me know. as im sticking with 6.03 for the time being


D3m0nnet.com
Re: switchbar #45736 01/09/03 12:59 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 212
V
vasil_michev Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
V
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 212
I'm not against the grip, it's just way easier to move the switchbar in the old way, that was the post about


And all I need now is intellectual intercourse, a soul to dig the hole much deeper
Re: switchbar #45737 01/09/03 05:55 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3
T
Tranks Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
T
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3
i would agree with neophyte there. i always wanted a fully customizable toolbar. all you have to do is open Dialog Studio or such, and have a toolbar within minutes. buttons for winamp, or some to open other programs. sounds good to me