mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Starting scripts #38635 27/07/03 11:53 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
C
craighorn Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
C
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
I want to start my own mirc script, but i don't know how to start.

wich program's will i need, and so on and so on.

appreciated.


Re: Starting scripts #38636 27/07/03 11:59 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
You need mIRC and the /help command.

/help if-then-else
is probably a good place to start.

Re: Starting scripts #38637 28/07/03 05:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
there are also lots of scripting tutorials that may help you. Use the search feature here, set it to All FOrums, expand the date range to a few months and use tutorial as search term to find some urls. And of course read the help file and mIRC FAQ smile


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: Starting scripts #38638 28/07/03 10:30 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
C
craighorn Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
C
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
so all i have to do is add some aliases, and i'm of to bussiness.
but how about the pop-up-menus in the nicklist and etcetera?

Re: Starting scripts #38639 28/07/03 10:36 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 309
C
CloCkWeRX Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
C
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 309
You'll find out about them in due course; the help file will guide you through it all.

Master the Aliases section; the conquer Popups and finally Remotes; then you'll know where to go from there.

The help file *SHOULD* cover these sections well enough for you to land on your feet.

Re: Starting scripts #38640 29/07/03 02:05 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
S
shortcircuit43 Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
S
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
If you are serious about scripting get a dialouge maker and a debuger addon for your mIRC it makes things go alot quicker also a bracket checker helps lord knows when first making scripts you will forget brackets no doubt about it. There is also a little addon called Scripting for dummies a good little starter info file..


Re: Starting scripts #38641 29/07/03 02:43 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 103
Pasmal Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 103
*plug* http://helpdesk.zaz.net/tutor/ walks you through writing scripts incl aliases, popups and remotes.

Re: Starting scripts #38642 29/07/03 12:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
If you are serious about scripting get a dialouge maker...

The best dialogue maker is the mIRC script editor.

Re: Starting scripts #38643 29/07/03 01:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
qwerty Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Definitely. And the best text editor/web authoring tool is Notepad.


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
Re: Starting scripts #38644 29/07/03 02:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Agreed. Notepad rocks.

Down with all these bloggers (Moveable Hype, etc) and coloured text editors.

Re: Starting scripts #38645 29/07/03 05:11 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Nah, pico beats notepad by a longshot! Notepad lacks some tools that are very useful for script/coding, such as "current line number" and "goto line number" features. Seeing as how mIRC says "....... on line 303" it is nice to be able to quickly jump to 303 without having to count. Pico rules!

Re: Starting scripts #38646 29/07/03 05:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Notepad has GOTO line number, for some reason the popup is greyed out in Win XP, though it works in Win 2000. I've used Notepad for website coding since I ditched Frontpage and Word about three years ago. I swear by it. It's l337.

Re: Starting scripts #38647 29/07/03 05:32 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Hmm I haven't tested on 2k, but as you said, it doesn't work on XP. To me, thats too valuable a tool to miss out on.

Re: Starting scripts #38648 29/07/03 05:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
The odd thing is that GOTO is also in Notepad's help file - looks like M$ did a stuffup.

Re: Starting scripts #38649 29/07/03 05:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 117
R
Rich Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 117
I suppose you ditched Frontpage and Word after you got winXP/200 then?
Because my notepad on win98 doesn't even have shortcut keys for items in the file menu, let alone something as advanced as 'goto line number'
I used it a while for website coding as well though smile


$input(Me like stars, You too?)
Re: Starting scripts #38650 29/07/03 05:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Nup, I've used Notepad on Win 98 too. I've rarely used the GOTO function as it is non-existant on 9X flavours. For the most part coding on my website rarely changes so I hardly ever run into bugs. I also keep coding extremely simple and only ever include what is absolutely necessary to make a function work, one of the reasons I did away with Word an Front Page, both those insert so much crap at the top of a page I am surprised that it doesn't crash people's browsers. Websites are the one thing that I just like to use old technology to create high-tech pages with.

Re: Starting scripts #38651 29/07/03 05:54 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Goto only works in notepad if you have wordwrap off.

Re: Starting scripts #38652 29/07/03 06:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Quite true, I just tried it out. Seems it's not a bug after all. grin

Re: Starting scripts #38653 29/07/03 06:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
I guess MS was too lazy to figure out how to count lines when word wrap is on... note how MS Word has no problems figuring it out...

Re: Starting scripts #38654 29/07/03 06:54 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
It would be handy to have in both modes, that's for sure.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3