|
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
Hoopy frood
|
OP
Hoopy frood
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730 |
some commands like /var,/if and more doesn't work if u are using a single "/" in the editbox becuz it's trying to send the command to the server (it shouldn't do that and it doesn't do it in other commands, it should first check if there is such alias/command in the mirc and if it's doesn't so only then try to send it to the server) /var %i = 1 send "var %i = 1" to the server /if (1) blah send "if (1) blah" to the server i think it should fixed since it works in other commands
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962 |
Having /var %blah = 1 "work" from the commandline would be totally useless since it would mean pipes weren't processed and so the variable would be immediately destroyed since no other commands could use it. The same goes for /if - there's no point having an /if condition if the command block following it won't be executed.
Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
|
|
|
|
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
Hoopy frood
|
OP
Hoopy frood
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730 |
it's useless but it's a bug anyway
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962 |
Why is it a bug? mIRC knows that the commands given to it are useless so it jumps to the conclusion that it might be useful if sent to the server. What's wrong with that?
Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
|
|
|
|
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
Hoopy frood
|
OP
Hoopy frood
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730 |
cuz it shouldn't do that, if u want to send something to the server u could just do /raw var %i = 1 it doesn't matter what are u trying to do even if it's useless and /if is useful if u don't want to evalute anything in your command (without using $(,0) ): /if (1) echo -a $blah and it should echo "$blah" (u can't use multiple commands cuz it won't evalute anything in the command(like "|" to a command separator))
Last edited by ScatMan; 27/06/03 01:29 PM.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962 |
That /if example won't work because the /echo wouldn't be treated as a command.
Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
|
|
|
|
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
Hoopy frood
|
OP
Hoopy frood
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730 |
why not ? //if (1) echo -a test does
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962 |
Yes, because it's got 2 //'s so the command is run also. Anyway, the point is that the /if is still totally pointless in that example and if you want it you can still use // instead. There's no reason mIRC shouldn't send the commands to the server, just as there's nothing wrong when it sends commands it doesn't recognise to the server.
Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
|
|
|
|
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
Hoopy frood
|
OP
Hoopy frood
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730 |
ok.. but i still think that it's useful if u want it to not evaluate the command
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 21
Ameglian cow
|
Ameglian cow
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 21 |
ok.. but i still think that it's useful if u want it to not evaluate the command Just hold down the CTRL key when pressing enter, mIRC will send it exactly as it's typed to the server without trying to evaluate/run it.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809 |
If you want to use /if from the command line, why not just use $iif?
// [ $+ [ $iif(1,echo -a $blah) ] ]
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138 |
Because //if works fine? Its /if that doesn't.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809 |
Well what I'm saying is, neither //if nor /if are really meant to be run from the command line. If you want in-expression conditionals, then that is what $iif is for.
|
|
|
|
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
Hoopy frood
|
OP
Hoopy frood
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730 |
your way evaluated too i typed // [ $+ [ $iif(1,echo -a $me) ] ] it echoed "Scat-Man" instead of "$me" i think the /if should fixed cuz it's the best way to do that
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809 |
|
|
|
|
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
Hoopy frood
|
OP
Hoopy frood
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730 |
look at the 5th post in this thread
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962 |
Any way you look at it, /if is totally useless for what you want. If /if worked and it evaluated the command block (which it wouldn't necessarily) but didn't evaluate the identifiers then you're still left with the question: 'Why did I use /if (true_constant) just to get to the command?'.
Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
|
|
|
|
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
Hoopy frood
|
OP
Hoopy frood
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730 |
there is no need to evaluate a command evaluation is just for identifiers&variables to replace them by their value i don't really gonna use this, but it's still a bug, it shouldn't do it since u can send something to the server with /raw
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962 |
By 'evaluate' I meant that the command would be treated as a command.
When you give mIRC an unrecognised command mIRC sees it won't do anything locally so it sends it to the server. When you give it /var, /if, or /while then the same is true, why shouldn't mIRC treat them the same way?
Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
|
|
|
|
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
Hoopy frood
|
OP
Hoopy frood
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730 |
then why /remove isn't sent to the server when i'm using only one "/" ? the /if should work the same
|
|
|
|
|