mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#32589 27/06/03 01:07 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
some commands like /var,/if and more doesn't work if u are using a single "/" in the editbox becuz it's trying to send the command to the server (it shouldn't do that and it doesn't do it in other commands, it should first check if there is such alias/command in the mirc and if it's doesn't so only then try to send it to the server)
/var %i = 1
send "var %i = 1" to the server
/if (1) blah
send "if (1) blah" to the server
i think it should fixed since it works in other commands

#32590 27/06/03 01:14 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Having /var %blah = 1 "work" from the commandline would be totally useless since it would mean pipes weren't processed and so the variable would be immediately destroyed since no other commands could use it. The same goes for /if - there's no point having an /if condition if the command block following it won't be executed.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
#32591 27/06/03 01:17 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
it's useless but it's a bug anyway

#32592 27/06/03 01:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Why is it a bug? mIRC knows that the commands given to it are useless so it jumps to the conclusion that it might be useful if sent to the server. What's wrong with that?


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
#32593 27/06/03 01:27 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
cuz it shouldn't do that, if u want to send something to the server u could just do /raw var %i = 1
it doesn't matter what are u trying to do even if it's useless
and /if is useful if u don't want to evalute anything in your command (without using $(,0) ):
/if (1) echo -a $blah
and it should echo "$blah" (u can't use multiple commands cuz it won't evalute anything in the command(like "|" to a command separator))

Last edited by ScatMan; 27/06/03 01:29 PM.
#32594 27/06/03 01:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
That /if example won't work because the /echo wouldn't be treated as a command.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
#32595 27/06/03 01:33 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
why not ?
//if (1) echo -a test
does

#32596 27/06/03 01:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Yes, because it's got 2 //'s so the command is run also. Anyway, the point is that the /if is still totally pointless in that example and if you want it you can still use // instead. There's no reason mIRC shouldn't send the commands to the server, just as there's nothing wrong when it sends commands it doesn't recognise to the server.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
#32597 27/06/03 01:40 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
ok.. but i still think that it's useful if u want it to not evaluate the command

#32598 28/06/03 05:35 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 21
T
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 21
Quote:
ok.. but i still think that it's useful if u want it to not evaluate the command


Just hold down the CTRL key when pressing enter, mIRC will send it exactly as it's typed to the server without trying to evaluate/run it.

#32599 28/06/03 06:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
If you want to use /if from the command line, why not just use $iif?

// [ $+ [ $iif(1,echo -a $blah) ] ]

#32600 28/06/03 06:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Because //if works fine? Its /if that doesn't.

#32601 28/06/03 06:09 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Well what I'm saying is, neither //if nor /if are really meant to be run from the command line. If you want in-expression conditionals, then that is what $iif is for.

#32602 29/06/03 12:04 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
your way evaluated too
i typed // [ $+ [ $iif(1,echo -a $me) ] ]
it echoed "Scat-Man" instead of "$me"
i think the /if should fixed cuz it's the best way to do that

#32603 29/06/03 12:14 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Then use $eval(...,0).

#32604 29/06/03 12:32 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
look at the 5th post in this thread

#32605 29/06/03 01:30 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Any way you look at it, /if is totally useless for what you want. If /if worked and it evaluated the command block (which it wouldn't necessarily) but didn't evaluate the identifiers then you're still left with the question: 'Why did I use /if (true_constant) just to get to the command?'.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
#32606 29/06/03 05:13 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
there is no need to evaluate a command
evaluation is just for identifiers&variables to replace them by their value
i don't really gonna use this, but it's still a bug, it shouldn't do it since u can send something to the server with /raw



#32607 29/06/03 11:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
By 'evaluate' I meant that the command would be treated as a command.

When you give mIRC an unrecognised command mIRC sees it won't do anything locally so it sends it to the server. When you give it /var, /if, or /while then the same is true, why shouldn't mIRC treat them the same way?


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
#32608 29/06/03 12:20 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
then why /remove isn't sent to the server when i'm using only one "/" ? the /if should work the same

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard