mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 8 of 14 1 2 6 7 8 9 10 13 14
Re: Cant DCC send #306 17/11/05 02:44 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
T
T1modem Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
T
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
see wtf??

when i //echo $ip i get 172.16.0.17 but when i dns myself i get 66.28.244.138 but when i try to send i send with 172.27.2.211 (this is all within mirc) I can't get mirc to recognize ONE IP, no matter what configuration i try... any suggestions?

Re: Cant DCC send #307 17/11/05 04:29 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
Have you tried typing /localinfo -u and then sending, as is suggested in the first post of this thread? That usually works if the IPs are different.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: Cant DCC send #308 18/11/05 12:17 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
T
T1modem Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
T
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
i've tried /localinfo -u and -h and every other letter... unfortunately, mirc doesn't want to cooperate. i'm at a loss as to what route to take from here...

Re: Cant DCC send #309 05/01/06 10:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
R
Ruskie Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
R
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Hi all

i'm on dsl behind a router, using zone alrarm pro firewall. Running windows XP SP2

i've forwarded the ports that i specified for dcc
local info also returns my external IP. and everything i've managed to take in from previous posts here seems to be in place

I can recieve dcc's but not send and the error i get is: Invalid parameters

pls could someone help me resolve this

Last edited by Ruskie; 05/01/06 10:51 PM.
Re: Cant DCC send #310 06/01/06 07:49 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
You have a crappy router, ditch it and get something good like a linksys, one that doesnt try and alter the dcc send messages on the fly. I bet its a dlink, burn dlink burn!

PS: your router is being way to clever for itself, and is altering what port you use for dcc on the WAN side of the router becuase it thinks it should and it knows best, I doubt you can fix its smarmy beleive that it knows best, besides with several blows of a hammer, which is likely to do other unrecoverable damage to it, while your teaching it whoes boss.

PSS : was it a dlink?

Re: Cant DCC send #311 06/01/06 12:13 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
R
Ruskie Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
R
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
lol

nah its a Marconi 4 port router.... just as bad

thx for the help

Last edited by Ruskie; 06/01/06 12:13 PM.
Re: Cant DCC send #312 06/01/06 09:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
heres how to actually test if your router is altering the message.

Start 2 copies of the client up and attach to the same irc server (it can be done with one but i dont care!)

On both copies dont be in any channels (this is to reduce the clutter of stuff you well be looking at)

On both copies type in /DEBUG @DEBUG
(this window well show you all traffic sent to and from the client to the server)

now on copy ONE attempt to DCC SEND to the second copy

On client ONE you well see a message with this text in it "DCC SEND <filename> <number> <number> <number>"
On client TWO you should normally see the same thing coming in, if the router has altered it the middle number well have changed, if the router altered it real badly you might have anything after the filename.
* do not confuse this with the NOTICE message mirc also sends (which normally well be sent fine regardless)

Re: Cant DCC send #313 06/01/06 11:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
R
Ruskie Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
R
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
yeah i tried it... recieving client only gives the last number.. leaves out the first 2 smirk
/me pwns his router

Re: Cant DCC send #314 07/01/06 07:38 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
you could email your router company and ask them how to turn off the stuffed up function of the router, but i give ya 3 to 1 odds who ever you talk to wont know jack about it OR well swear black and blue that it doesnt do that.

Re: Cant DCC send #315 07/01/06 10:38 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
R
Ruskie Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
R
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Its not even worth talking to someone here in south africa.. smirk
i'll save up and invest in a decent router :P

Re: Cant DCC send #316 12/02/06 12:33 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
D
DzIE Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
hello,

i can recieve files fine, from most ppl.
however i cannot send!
i have win2k (legal and fully updated to the latest service pack)
got mirc 6.16
got 2 pcs (win2k fully updated installed on both) :

pc#1 Inet pc
----------------
is connected to Cable connection, but in order to connect gotta use the windows dialup (that cloud icon)
this inet connection has sharing enabled. (file and printer sharing disabled ofcouse smile

pc#2 - bro's room pc
--------------------------
is connected to pc#1 via a simple ethernet Switch
(Edimax ES-3108P) (laptop +another pc are sometimes connected and also nice for lans)

To open certain specifc ports (emule,ftps,whatever)
I have to press on the dialup (pc#1-inet)
press on Properties--->Sharing--->Settings-->Services-->

under services,I press Add ,type some name,the specifc port i want opened,and at the end- pc#2's lan ip (192.168.0.23).

my question is, with this kind of network setup, How can i open the nessaccery ports for dcc send/recieve (some fservers request setting port+59 or something.. and from those i cannot recieve) and what are the ports needed to be open?

I have tried typing 1024-5000 under services-->add
but it only allows specific ports (max 5digit numbers)
i do not wanna type in each port from 1024,1025,1026,....5000 into services... it will take days! :>

Also i was wondering if its possiable to only open 1024-1050 for example,is that good enough for dcc send?
(I dont like having so many ports open)

Last edited by DzIE; 12/02/06 12:39 AM.
Re: Cant DCC send #317 12/02/06 02:12 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
ICS sucks u should get your self a router and put it in between the lan and the cable modem, in fact moust routers have multiple ports for lan so are actually lan hub/switches as well, so you kill 2 birds with one stone.

Anyway, go into mirc and click tool/options/connect/options/advanced, then set your mirc dcc ports to something a bit more realistic than 1024-5000, like 1050-1059 (example only i dont knwo what else might want them, i uses 8000+ myself), then goto PC1 and service (forward) them ports to pc2, and if u can be shagged service port 59 and/or 6060 as well. and if u do 59 or 6060 in mirc click tools/options/dcc/server enable it set the port and if u want chat send and or fserver listening (dont do fserver inless u have one eh?)

And lastely id like to mention ICS sucks, oh did i say that before? well it does.

Re: Cant DCC send #318 12/02/06 01:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
D
DzIE Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
first of all thx :>

1. now, what is ICS?

2. Router: problem with getting a router,is im not sure how to setup the "dialup" connection to my isp (again i'll remind ive got cable modem,Israel,isp is 012net ). there are different options isp requires for cable connex (vpn,pptp,lptp and all those things...that are in the whole "dialup" thing)

3. i forward ports 59 and 6060,however in the options/dcc/server
i only have Listen on Port: 59
cant add 6060
so what to do?

4. when u say 1050-1059 (for example) u mean i should add each port manualy? (services) 1050,1051,1052,1053....1058,1059 ?

Re: Cant DCC send #319 12/02/06 09:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
1) ICS : Internet Connection Sharing

2) Router would resolve that situation completely, since your computers are connected to the router via ethernet cable or wireless (depending on the type of router and what you have for hardware on the computers for the connection.)
Since you're already using ICS, then you already have what is required for a wired router, with the exception of the router itself.
Most companies that make routers have good to excellent customer service, and there's also this site which has a lot of configuration information for multiple types of routers.

3) Sorry, can't help with that one.

4) Go to mIRC Options - Connect - Options - Advanced
Ensure that DCC is checked
Set the number in the box marked First to 1050
Set the number in the box marked Last to 1059
(Using the example port numbers)

Re: Cant DCC send #320 13/02/06 03:02 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
1 & 2 answered well by Russel

3) you can forward ports 59 and/or 6060, but u can only set the dcc/server up to listen on 59 OR 6060

4) yes each port manually, a whole 10 to do, is a lot less than 1024-5000 being 3977 which might take a while to enter.

Re: Cant DCC send #321 13/02/06 04:04 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
I speak from experience, having used ICS for about 3 months until I found a router that I liked and could afford.

Re: Cant DCC send #322 13/02/06 07:14 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
D
DzIE Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
thanks again for the help guys

/me goes looking for a router...

question- with a router,is it safe to enable file sharing?
(i know when file sharing is enabled,windows opens a certain port which allows easy access from outside users usualy !)

Re: Cant DCC send #323 13/02/06 08:07 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Well, the safest way to share files between two computers is to copy the files to a disk then take the disk to the other computer and copy them from the disk to the 2nd computer.

Next to that, using a router, (to my knowledge) is the next safest route, since you can use the settings on the router to only allow access to the files from one specific address.

When you connect via a router, each computer on the network is given a different address. This can be overridden and a specific address for a computer can be used. This is called a static address. If you set static addresses on both computers, then you can configure the router to only allow access to files if the address matches.

That's the simple version. A more detailed and complicated version of how to do it would depend on the type (wired or wireless), make & model of the router.

Re: Cant DCC send #324 13/02/06 11:51 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
if u mean windows file sharing, then yeah sure, who cares your behind a router, its blocking that port from the internet (unless u opened it, now that would be crazy)

PS: if your using any NT u also have file permissions to protect yourself.

Re: Cant DCC send #325 18/02/06 07:02 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
D
drb46 Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
I have followed the directions at the dlink site for configuring their router to use mirc. My question is where do you get the correct ip number to enter when the directions say: "Enter the IP address of the computer you are running mirc from." From typing ipconfig? From typing What is my IP in the browser? Because both are different.

Thanks.

Page 8 of 14 1 2 6 7 8 9 10 13 14