mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
/logview command #266950 11/03/20 09:56 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
When I use the command /logview $window($active).logfile opens a folder with the name Window or if that folder is already open opens a new Window with the name View, only if the Window (View) is at the top, when I close the Window (View) I don't know why but the Window folder is automatically retracted.

To better understand, I leave here two images, one before and one after.

Before closing
[Linked Image from i.ibb.co]

After closing
[Linked Image from i.ibb.co]


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: TECO] #266952 12/03/20 09:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Thanks for your bug report. This is the intended behaviour. The /logview command uses a special custom window named @View to view logs, so you can only view one log file at a time. The purpose of the /logview command is to mimic the View button in the Logs dialog.

Re: /logview command [Re: Khaled] #266953 12/03/20 11:09 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
Originally Posted by Khaled
Thanks for your bug report. This is the intended behaviour. The /logview command uses a special custom window named @View to view logs, so you can only view one log file at a time. The purpose of the /logview command is to mimic the View button in the Logs dialog.

Ok, Khaled, I understood and I know that this is the function of the command, I just don't understand why the window @View when closed leaves the window folder retracted.


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: TECO] #266954 12/03/20 11:31 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Ah, right! Hmm. I can't seem to reproduce this here. I created several windows to match those in your image but when I close the @View window, the Window folder stays open.

Do you have any of the settings enabled in the "Group" or "Order" dialogs in the Window menu?

Re: /logview command [Re: Khaled] #266955 12/03/20 12:03 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
Originally Posted by Khaled
Ah, right! Hmm. I can't seem to reproduce this here. I created several windows to match those in your image but when I close the @View window, the Window folder stays open.

Do you have any of the settings enabled in the "Group" or "Order" dialogs in the Window menu?

When it was reproduced, @View was at the top as in the first image?


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: Khaled] #266956 12/03/20 12:06 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
Originally Posted by Khaled
Ah, right! Hmm. I can't seem to reproduce this here. I created several windows to match those in your image but when I close the @View window, the Window folder stays open.

Do you have any of the settings enabled in the "Group" or "Order" dialogs in the Window menu?

I have everything disabled in the window group.


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: TECO] #266957 12/03/20 01:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Quote
When it was reproduced, @View was at the top as in the first image?

Yes, the @View window is at the top of the list. When I close the @View window, either with Alt+Z, clicking the X close button, etc. the Window folder stays open here.

Re: /logview command [Re: Khaled] #266959 12/03/20 06:02 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
Originally Posted by Khaled
Quote
When it was reproduced, @View was at the top as in the first image?

Yes, the @View window is at the top of the list. When I close the @View window, either with Alt+Z, clicking the X close button, etc. the Window folder stays open here.

Hi Khaled
I installed mIRC again and created a video so that I could show you what happens and so that you could understand to see what happens when reproducing the problem.

video address: VĂ­deo Record


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: TECO] #266962 13/03/20 05:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Thanks for the video. Unfortunately, I have still not been able to reproduce the issue. Which version of Windows are you using?

Re: /logview command [Re: Khaled] #266965 13/03/20 08:21 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
Originally Posted by Khaled
Thanks for the video. Unfortunately, I have still not been able to reproduce the issue. Which version of Windows are you using?

Windows 10 x64 Pro 1909 (OS Build 18363.720)
mIRC version 7.61


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: TECO] #266968 14/03/20 09:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Okay, I am using the same version of Windows here. That is puzzling. There is no code that collapses the node in this context, so it must be something Windows is doing automatically for some reason.

I notice in your video that the folders are not showing the "count" of open windows, which is a default setting. Did you disable the "Show Count" option in the Treebar popup menu? The reason I ask is that I tested this with a clean install of mIRC, with no scripts/addons/etc., so all of the settings are set to defaults.

Re: /logview command [Re: Khaled] #266970 14/03/20 09:42 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
Originally Posted by Khaled
Okay, I am using the same version of Windows here. That is puzzling. There is no code that collapses the node in this context, so it must be something Windows is doing automatically for some reason.

I notice in your video that the folders are not showing the "count" of open windows, which is a default setting. Did you disable the "Show Count" option in the Treebar popup menu? The reason I ask is that I tested this with a clean install of mIRC, with no scripts/addons/etc., so all of the settings are set to defaults.

Yes, I have disabled folder counting. I detected this problem since the version of mIRC 5.59, but I did not report it because I thought you ended up detecting the problem, but I ended up deciding to report it.
I also installed a clean version of mIRC without addons/scripts/etc and the video I made was with a clean version.


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: Khaled] #266971 14/03/20 09:50 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
In my opinion I think that this problem has to do with two situations. It appears when we are connected to more than one network, and also with the active option of "sort buttons". The problem I notice is that it only happens when the @View window is on top of all other windows as I showed in the video.


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: Khaled] #266978 15/03/20 03:29 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
Hi Khaled,
To help you I created a new video, where I show that I am connected to 2 networks and I switch between the two networks and where I open @windows and that when closing them, the Window folder is collected.

I also made an example with the sort buttons option active / disable and you can see that the @AAA window is always at the top as if it were in alphabetical order.

I hope again to be helping you.

video address: Video Record 2


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: TECO] #267070 30/03/20 04:21 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
Originally Posted by TECO
Hi Khaled,
To help you I created a new video, where I show that I am connected to 2 networks and I switch between the two networks and where I open @windows and that when closing them, the Window folder is collected.

I also made an example with the sort buttons option active / disable and you can see that the @AAA window is always at the top as if it were in alphabetical order.

I hope again to be helping you.

video address: Video Record 2

Hi Khaled,
as I showed in the second video I made, there are a few more details that I detected. The problem with the Window folder collecting all windows, happens whenever we are in more than one network.

If we execute the command on the first network: //window -znkg1 @Test (when closing the @Test window) all other windows in the Window Folder are collapsed.

If we execute the command on the second network: //window -znkg1 @Test (when closing the @Test window) the remaining open windows in the Window Folder will be expanded.

I tested the new beta version 7.61.159 and the problem continues.

Hug!


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: TECO] #267252 28/04/20 08:04 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Okay. I have still not been able to reproduce this. Here are the exact steps I am taking:

1. Copy mirc.exe to a new, empty folder
2. Create an empty mirc.ini in this folder that contains:
[about]
portable=yes
3. Copy servers.ini to the folder
4. Run the mirc.exe
5. Enter nicknames in the Options/Connect dialog
6. Connect to a server with: /server gamesurge
7. Join channels with: //join #thisisatest1 | /join #thisisatest2
8. Connect to another server with: /server -m freenode
9. Join channels with: //join #thisisatest1 | /join #thisisatest2
10. Select first server window
11. Open several @windows with: //window -z @a | /window -z @b | /window -z @c
12. Select first server window
13. Open the @test window with: //window -znkg1 @Test
14. Right-click on Switchbar icon of @Test and select "close" to close the window

Do the above steps reproduce the issue for you?

If they do not, can you change them to reproduce the issue?

Re: /logview command [Re: Khaled] #267253 28/04/20 12:32 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
Originally Posted by Khaled
Okay. I have still not been able to reproduce this. Here are the exact steps I am taking:

1. Copy mirc.exe to a new, empty folder
2. Create an empty mirc.ini in this folder that contains:
[about]
portable=yes
3. Copy servers.ini to the folder
4. Run the mirc.exe
5. Enter nicknames in the Options/Connect dialog
6. Connect to a server with: /server gamesurge
7. Join channels with: //join #thisisatest1 | /join #thisisatest2
8. Connect to another server with: /server -m freenode
9. Join channels with: //join #thisisatest1 | /join #thisisatest2
10. Select first server window
11. Open several @windows with: //window -z @a | /window -z @b | /window -z @c
12. Select first server window
13. Open the @test window with: //window -znkg1 @Test
14. Right-click on Switchbar icon of @Test and select "close" to close the window

Do the above steps reproduce the issue for you?

If they do not, can you change them to reproduce the issue?

New test on the networks and channels you leave in the publication. Only the windows have different names.

video address: New video


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: TECO] #267256 28/04/20 03:54 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Thank you but I am still unable to reproduce the issue.

I notice that instead of windows @a @b and @c in the Window list, you have AAA1 and AAA45, without the @ prefix. Which /window switches did you use to create AAA1 and AAA45?

Can you create a list of steps (not a video), like the steps in my previous post, that reproduce the issue for you?

I will then follow your list of steps.

Re: /logview command [Re: Khaled] #267257 28/04/20 05:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
TECO Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 185
Originally Posted by Khaled
Thank you but I am still unable to reproduce the issue.

I notice that instead of windows @a @b and @c in the Window list, you have AAA1 and AAA45, without the @ prefix. Which /window switches did you use to create AAA1 and AAA45?

Can you create a list of steps (not a video), like the steps in my previous post, that reproduce the issue for you?

I will then follow your list of steps.

1. Copy mirc.exe to a new, empty folder
2. Create an empty mirc.ini in this folder that contains:
[about]
portable=yes
3. Copy servers.ini to the folder
4. Run the mirc.exe
5. Enter nicknames in the Options/Connect dialog
6. Connect to a server with: /server gamesurge
7. Join channels with: //join #thisisatest1 | /join #thisisatest2
8. Open several @window with: //window -znkg1 @AAA2
9. Connect to another server with: /server -m freenode
10. Join channels with: //join #thisisatest1 | /join #thisisatest2
11. Open on the second network @window with: //window -znkg1 @AAA1
12. Select the @AAA2 window and close it


TECO
irc.PTirc.org (Co-Admin)
Re: /logview command [Re: TECO] #267258 28/04/20 06:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,800
Aha! Thanks, I was able to reproduce it :-)

Page 1 of 2 1 2