mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Reconnecting to wrong port #266881 27/02/20 09:45 AM
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
D
Demented329 Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
D
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Hi everyone,

I'm having trouble with the automatic reconnect. On my server, I connect to two different ports (1025 and 1026). Now, when I get disconnected, mIRC reconnects but it uses port 6667 instead of 1025 and 1026, even though it was connected to these ports before it got disconnected.

How can I make it automatically reconnect to the correct port?

Thanks in advance

Re: Reconnecting to wrong port [Re: Demented329] #266889 28/02/20 06:46 PM
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
D
Demented329 Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
D
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Hi again,

what I've figured out so far is it has something to do with a server being added to the server list.
For testing purposes, I added an entry named 'local' with localhost on port 6667 as server.
When connecting to localhost using '/server localhost 1026' and then closing the connection from the server side, mIRC first tries to reconnect on port 1026, but any other attempts will be directed towards port 6667.

Quote

[19:38:11] * [10053] Software caused connection abort
-
[19:38:11] * Disconnected
-
[19:38:14] * Connect retry #1 localhost (1026)
-
[19:38:16] * Unable to connect to server (Connection refused)
-
[19:38:19] * Connect retry #2 localhost (6667)
-
[19:38:21] * Unable to connect to server (Connection refused)
-
....


However, if I remove that server from the server list, it continues to reconnect on the correct port.

Using Version 7.59, btw.

I made a video on how to reproduce the problem:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=csMV2Yb5SdY

Since I know what causes the error, this thread can be seen as 'fixed'. However, it might be a bug so maybe move it to the correct section.

Last edited by Demented329; 28/02/20 07:37 PM. Reason: Added youtube link
Re: Reconnecting to wrong port [Re: Demented329] #266912 03/03/20 06:35 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,832
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,832
That looks fine. mIRC will always cycle through the list of ports you have defined for a server in the servers list.