mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#255049 16/09/15 11:37 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Twitch Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
I am curious if this is intended behavior, or a bug of sorts that causes it to not show as you would expect them to in the sending client...

It would seem that when you send a message/action (/msg or /describe) to multiple targets, you do not get the default output like you would with a single target

Single target:
Code:
/msg #Channel normal message

Results in (as expected):
Code:
<Smeagol> normal message

However using multiple targes:
Code:
/msg #Channel1,#Channel2 multitarget message

Results in this being shows where the command was entered:
Code:
-> *#Channel1,#Channel2* multitarget message


Same goes for any multiple target messages:
Code:
/msg #Channel1,Nick1 multitarget message
-> *#Channel1,Nick1* multitarget message


It would seem the 'expected behavior' would be this:
Code:
/msg #Channel1,#Channel2 multitarget message

Shown in #Channel1:
Code:
<Smeagol> multitarget message

Shown in #Channel2 (Or second target, eg: Nick1):
Code:
<Smeagol> multitarget message


That said, the message is properly sent to the targets, just doesn't show as I would think they should in the client sending the data.

Last edited by Twitch; 16/09/15 11:46 PM.

Lost in your digital reality.
#mIRC / #Helpdesk on DALnet.
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 969
F
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
F
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 969
This is expected behavior as mIRC does not (AFAIK) assume that /msg is sent to multiple channels if a comma is specified. Instead, it assumes you sent the msg to "#chan1,#chan2" not "#chan1" and "#chan2".

This is easily fixed with scripting, and I'd assume is not a bug


I am SReject
My Stuff
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
Twitch Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 38
I would think that since all the IRCds that I have seen allow multiple targets, mIRC should accept this behavior and display accordingly. Should it not?

Yes of course you could write a script to catch the default /msg and /describe commands and display how you see fit, but I'm still of the mind that mIRC should do this by default.


Lost in your digital reality.
#mIRC / #Helpdesk on DALnet.
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,150
W
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,150
In the original rfc, it is specified that channel name cannot contain a comma, because it's used as a list seperator (exactly the case here). It is not expected behavior at all, mIRC should not be assuming you're sending a message to such a channel because it's simply invalid. It should display the message to each valid target.


#mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net == the best mIRC help channel

Link Copied to Clipboard