mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
S
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
S
So I am essentially attempting to script a bot so every 5 minutes it displays a random fact from a textfile.

I achieved that with:

on me:*:join:#:{
.timerfacts 0 $rand(240,300) msg $chan $!read(facts.txt,n)
}

however often times it will repeat the same fact within a 15 minute time period (by pure luck of course) but I am wondering if there is a way to set it up so that it will not repeat a line until all of the lines from the file have been read.

http://www.mirc.org/mishbox/tutorials/readworepeat.htm
I saw that mIRC has a topic about this but after copying the code everytime i try to call the alias it gives me an unknown command error and nothing will display.

I'm quite new to the mIRC language and still dont fully understand its complexities any help would be appreciated.

W
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
W
The idea of that script is to store the line that are read and to check that the line hasn't been read before validating

It uses a variable which is a bit too simple and will end up being wrong if you have too many lines, a quick hash table with the $hash of the line will work better:

Code:
alias randomline {
  var %h randomline $+ $hash($1,32),%ok
  if ($2 == clear) hfree %h
  else {
    var %r $read($1,$2),%l $hash(%r,32)
    while ($hget(%h,%l)) var %r $read($1,$2),%l $hash(%r,32)
    if (!$hget(%h,%l)) {
      hadd -m %h %l 1
      %ok = 1
    }
    if ($hget(%h,0).item == $lines($1)) hfree %h
    if (%ok) returnex %r
  }
}
and just use $randomline(file,<clear|tn>) if you pass clear as the second parameters, it will clear the table and forget the lines already read, to start again. This process is done automatically if it detects that you read all the lines, (this might not work if you edit the file without clearing the table), otherwise you can use this parameter to pass the 't' or 'n' switch to the $read call, which is recommended.