mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
T
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
T
Hello friends, I am pretty new to mirc. I want to make an on text command that only works on lines that are contained in a specified text file. So for example if i have a text file that looks like this:
apple
orange

I only want it to perform the on text action if someone types "apple" or "orange". If this is possible then can I use wildcards with it so it would also work when someone types "oranges" or "borange".

Thanks!

W
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
W
Check this recent thread and look at how $read is used to match a line in a text file with the 'wn' switches.

#mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net == the best mIRC help channel
S
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
S
Probably not the best way of doing it but at the minute its the best I can think of.

Code:
On *:Text:*:#: {
  var %x = $$1-, %i = 1
  while (%i <= $numtok(%x,32)) {
    if ($read(filename.ext,nw,$gettok(%x,%i,32))) msg # $ifmatch was said.
    inc %i
  }
}

Change the filename.ext to the txt file you will be using.

Hopefully that works.

T
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
T
Thanks, that worked, but the wildcarding doesn't seem to work, it only performs the action if $- matches the line in the txt file exactly. I tried adding * around it, $read(File.txt,nw, *$-*) but it doesn't seem to work.(also tried setting $- to a variable and doing $read(File.txt,nw, *%variable*) but that didn't work either)
edit: i realised that this won't work for me, since i need to check if the word entered contains any of the lines in the text file

edit2: I ended up using while loops and tracking the size of the list, thanks for the help

Last edited by Tehpolecat; 31/03/14 02:45 AM.
W
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
W