mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#234835 12/11/11 06:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 52
E
eawedat Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
E
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 52
hey all,
when I type :

Code:
/tokenize 46 this.is.my.string
/echo -a $1
/echo -a $2
...


does not work!

source: tokenize

thanks.

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,124
T
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,124
Code:
//tokenize 46 this.is.my.string | echo -a $1 | echo -a $2 | echo -a $3 | echo -a $4
Or:
Code:
//tokenize 46 this.is.my.string | echo -a $*

Last edited by Tomao; 12/11/11 06:48 PM.
Tomao #234838 12/11/11 07:07 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 52
E
eawedat Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
E
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 52
Tomao thanks.
could you explain please why it has to include pipe among commands?

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,061
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,061
After a script is finished, $1- is gone. Anything sent from the command line is basically a "script" and each time you hit enter, the next thing you type is a new "script". So if you want to use something like /tokenize from the command line, you have to use | to place multiple commands on a single line. If you use it in an actual script using an event or alias, then you don't need to do that.

* It really isn't a script from the command line, but I used that word to get the idea across. smile

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,124
T
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,124
To add to Riamus2's, the pipe is a command separator if you prefer to code something in one line and execute it as shown.

The double forward slashes tell mIRC to interprete and evaluate the numeric identifiers used in the code.

The single slash is used to have mIRC respond to your command request without the evaluation. If you prefer to not use any slash, you need to make a simple alias like so:

alias testing {
tokenize tokenize 46 this.is.my.string
echo -a $1
echo -a $2
...
}

Then enter the cmd testing to execute the alias as Riamus2 has mentioned.

I won't recommend the practice of using the pipe as a habit in MSL, because it tends to make the code disorganized and difficult to debug.

Last edited by Tomao; 12/11/11 07:36 PM.
Tomao #234844 12/11/11 09:37 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 52
E
eawedat Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
E
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 52
so Riamus2 what you are trying to say that if I type those commands from command line , after hitting Enter with first command which is "tokenize" in this situation. all the parameters $0 $1 $2 $3 .. will be destroyed! and to avoid that we use pipe!

it sounds like using pipes in linux!

I remember once ! that I used pipes in mIRC between many commands
just not to jump lines below! I liked the way to write the commands in one line using pipes! and now what I understood from you , pipe is used to "get-echo" info from "first" command.


for Tomao!
I just do not get it why in "alias" echo is YES recognized typing it line after line.. & not in command line!
I think there is have to be something like in memory of computer or maybe in mIRC using temporary variables that saves tokenize! so if you type echo after hitting enter in the command line! it would work for you.

thanks guys.:)

Last edited by eawedat; 12/11/11 09:38 PM.
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,641
A
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,641
eawedat: not quite, regarding pipes.

The | character separates multiple commands. In linux, pipes feed output to the next. I understand your point about similarity, but you're not using pipes so that you can retain output, you're using pipes *SPECIFICALLY* because you're in the editbox. I'm not sure if you got that from Riamus' reply, but you do not need to use | inside remote scripts.

Think about it this way: mIRC clears all internal state when a script ends. In other words, mIRC clears the $0, $1, $2 ... parameters after you run an alias. So if you have an alias like:

alias foo { echo -a $1 | echo -a $2 | echo -a $3 }

Typing /foo a b c will run those three echo statements and clear $1- after the command runs, because your script ended.

Now, because of the way the editbox works, a single line is a single script, so you can't separate commands within the same script with new lines. The following won't work:

Type /tokenize 32 a b c
Type /echo -a $1
Type /echo -a $2
Type /echo -a $3

When you type those commands, this is what mIRC does:


Type /tokenize 32 a b c
mIRC tokenizes a bc
mIRC clears $1-

Type /echo -a $1
mIRC echos something
mIRC clears $1-

Type /echo -a $2
mIRC echos something
mIRC clears $1-

Type /echo -a $3
mIRC echos something
mIRC clears $1-

It's clearing $1- after each line typed, because each line is a new script with new state.

This is why you need to type the commands within a single line, so mIRC sees this as a single "script" to be run. Because mIRC allows newlines and | to separate commands, you can use | to keep them all on the same line.

The following is considered "the same script" to mIRC:

//tokenize 32 a b c | echo -a $1 | echo -a $2 | echo -a $3

Because it is on one line.

It's not about the pipes, it's about the requirement of your script fitting into a single line. Pipes are just how you write scripts to fit in a single line, with multiple commands.

argv0 #234848 12/11/11 11:05 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 52
E
eawedat Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
E
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 52
argv0 thank you very much for your help
you deserve credits for your help.




Link Copied to Clipboard