mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
D
DeSync Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
Hi,

I have one remote where I've created some aliases without -l parameter, and I'm trying to call it in other place but it won't work.

Code:
alias k {
  if $1 && $2 {
    return $+($chr(3), $1, $2, $chr(3))
  }
}


So I use $k(4, text here) for coloring text instead of CTRL + K in everywhere.
Also I have same $b(text here) which works fine, and so on for underline and italic.

Am I wrong anywhere?

EDIT: Also note that $b works fine everywhere.

Last edited by DeSync; 22/12/10 11:48 PM.
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
While it looks right to me, one option that I have come across is that mIRC is (sometimes) picky regarding spaces.

Just a suggestion:
Code:
alias k {
  if $$1 isnum && $$2 {
    return $+($chr(3),$$1,$$2-,$chr(3))
  }
}


Another possibility I just thought of, is that you might need to evaluate the expression before returning it.
If that's the case, use
Code:
return $($+($chr(3),$$1,$$2-,$chr(3)),2)
for your return line.

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
D
DeSync Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
No, it's same:

But it returns this at status: (7 is color number)

7 No such channel

And this:

* /echo: insufficient parameters (line 22, script.mrc)

line 22 is line where alias is called $k(7, text)

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
It seems to work fine the way you have it. Maybe you have more than one k alias? Try changing it to something that is guaranteed to be unique, such as kcolor or whatever. Changing the name of the alias may be all you need.

Edit: If you're getting no such channel, then it isn't your identifier that is the problem, but how you're using it. How are you calling it? $k(7, text) isn't how you're calling it... you'd need something else on that line (echo, msg, etc).


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
D
DeSync Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
echo -s $k(7, text)

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Have you tried naming it differently yet?


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
D
DeSync Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
Yeah, now works, but why won't if $k?

I'm sure that there's not other alias with same name.

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,028
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,028

Did you look aliases.ini? there is a default /k (/kick) alias.

That might explain the 7 No such channel error when you used echo -s $k(7, text)

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
D
DeSync Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
Ahh.. yeah, that was, but file aliases.ini wasn't loaded smirk

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
mIRC loads the Aliases.ini file by default every time it starts, unless you either unloaded it, or there's been a problem that has stopped it from loading.
If you found the file by clicking the Aliases tab in the Remotes section, then the aliases.ini file was loaded.

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
D
DeSync Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 57
Aliases tab was empty, but there was aliases in aliases.ini file.


Link Copied to Clipboard